News selected per division ...

Blaum     Hinton     Keitel     Lindner     Pfeifer

All News


BASE opens up new possibilities in the search for cold dark matter

The Baryon Antibaryon Symmetry Experiment (BASE) at CERN’s Antimatter Factory has set new limits on the mass of axion-like particles – hypothetical…

Read more

Limits of atomic nuclei predicted

Novel calculations have enabled the study of nearly 700 isotopes between helium and iron, showing which nuclei can exist and which cannot. In an…

Read more

Jonas Karthein receives the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Dissertation Prize 2020

For his PhD thesis on "Next-Generation Mass Spectrometry of Exotic Isotopes and Isomers" Dr. Jonas Karthein was awarded the Heidelberg Wilhelm and…

Read more

New Managing Director

At the turn of the year, Prof. Dr. Jim Hinton on a rotational basis took over the Institute management of MPIK. Deputy for the next 18 months is…

Read more

Another milestone in the search for neutrinoless double-beta decay

The GERmanium Detector Array (GERDA) experiment at the Laboratori Nazionali del Gran Sasso (LNGS) of INFN, Italy, has reported its final results on…

Read more

No longer “faster than permitted by our galaxy” ...

A collaboration between the groups of Maurice Leutenegger, José Crespo and Sven Bernitt from NASA Goddard Space Flight Center, MPIK, Helmholtz…

Read more

Jason Mather erfolgreich als Feinmechanik-Azubi

Glückwunsch zum Sieg im Leistungswettbewerb des Deutschen Handwerks

Read more

Stern-Gerlach Medal for Joachim Ullrich

Joachim Ullrich, PTB President and External Scientific Member of the MPIK, receives the DPG’s most prestigious award in the field of experimental…

Read more

Manfred Lindner elected AAAS Fellow

Honor for distinguished contributions to theoretical and experimental particle physics

Read more

Appointment of Dr. Yun Jiang

Associate Professor at Sun Yat-sen University

Read more

The coherence time of extreme ultraviolet frequency combs

Highly charged ions as a stopwatch

Read more

What causes the mysterious XENON1T signal?

The XENON collaboration recently announced an unexpected signal in the low-energy electron-recoil spectrum of the XENON1T detector, i.e., in the area…

Read more

On the search for coherent neutrino scattering: First results of the CONUS project

An upper limit for fully coherent scattering of neutrinos off atomic nuclei was determined for the first time with the CONUS neutrino detector at the…

Read more

Rotation of a molecule as an "internal clock"

Using a new method, physicists at the Heidelberg Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics have investigated the ultrafast fragmentation of hydrogen…

Read more

Alternative Cosmologies on the Test Bench

Einstein's theory of general relativity and the standard model of cosmology based on it have so far been extremely successful. However, there are good…

Read more

Appointment of two MPIK scientists

The Department of Mathematical Sciences of the University of Liverpool, UK, has appointed two postdoctoral researchers of the MPI for Nuclear Physics…

Read more

Lise Meitner Prize of the European Physical Society for Klaus Blaum

Highest European award in the field of nuclear physics

Read more

Achim Schwenk another five years Max Planck Fellow at MPIK

The President of the Max Planck Society has appointed Prof. Achim Schwenk, Institute for Nuclear Physics of TU Darmstadt, as Max Planck Fellow at the…

Read more

Mass of the deuteron corrected

High-precision measurements of the mass of the deuteron, the nucleus of heavy hydrogen, provide new insights into the reliability of fundamental…

Read more