Skip navigation

Astrophysical Plasma Theory

The group's principle areas of research include theoretical and observational aspects of sources of high energy particles and their associated radiative signatures.

Group Members

MemberOfficeTel. +49 6221 516-
Brian Reville3L22-589
Gwenael GiacintiCTAO-584
John Kirk (personal webpage)3L25-482
Michelle TsirouCTAO-585
Naveen KumarCTAO-592
Nils SchweenCTAO-585
Zhiqiu HuangCTAO-585

Former Members

Dr Grigorios Katsoulakos

Mr William Lamb




Experiments watch turbulent dynamo amplifying magnetic fields

An international collaboration, co-led by the University of Oxford and University of Rochester together with the Astrophysical Plasma Theory group at…

Read more

New insights into the inner machinery of Eta Carinae

By which means does the extremely massive and luminous binary star Eta Carinae produce x-rays and gamma rays? In an MPIK-led study, astrophysicists…

Read more