Skip to main content  ∨   Page logos with links to institutions:
Max Planck Society Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics University of Heidelberg
Stored and Cooled Ions Division
 
Max Planck SocietyMax Planck Institute for Nuclear PhysicsUniversity of Heidelberg Stored and Cooled Ions Division
Superordinated navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  Deutsch  |  Sitemap  |  Search  |  Contact
Section navigation:

Postdoc positions

Postdoctoral position within BASE (Baryon Antibaryon Symmetry Experiment) at Mainz

We are seeking for a Post Doctoral researcher to work on the high-precision measurement of the g-factor of the proton within BASE (Baryon Antibaryon Symmetry Experiment) in Mainz, Germany.

The candidate is expected to contribute dedicated and independent research. Work location will be the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, Germany.

The high-precision comparison of basic properties of matter/antimatter counterparts provides stringent tests of charge-parity-time (CPT) invariance of the Standard Model. The experiments of the BASE collaboration external Link target comparisons of the fundamental properties of protons and antiprotons by determining and comparing their charge-to-mass ratios and magnetic moments (g-factors) in Penning traps.
In the past years, BASE improved the measurement precision of the g-factor of the proton and the antiproton several times. A further significant improvement of the measurement accuracy can be achieved by the application of a new sympathetic cooling scheme. To this end, a new apparatus consisting of five traps has been built in Mainz. Task of the candidate is the technical development work for the application of sympathetic laser cooling on protons.

The candidates are asked to submit the usual documents (CV, Copy of Diploma thesis and PhD thesis) to Prof. Dr. Klaus Blaum (Postal address: Max-Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics, P.O. Box 10 39 80, D-69029 Heidelberg, Germany).

springe zum Hauptinhalt  ∨   Seitenlogos mit Links zu Institutionen:
Max-Planck-Gesellschaft Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik Universität Heidelberg
Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
 
Max-Planck-GesellschaftMax-Planck-Institut für KernphysikUniversität Heidelberg Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
Übergeordnete Navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  English  |  Sitemap  |  Suche  |  Kontakt
Bereichs-Navigation:

Postdoc-Stellen

Postdoc-Stelle innerhalb BASE (Baryon Antibaryon Symmetry Experiment) in Mainz

Wir suchen nach einem Post-Doktoranden/einer Post-Doktorandin für die hochpräzise Messung des g-Faktors des Protons im Rahmen von BASE (Baryon Antibaryon Symmetry Experiment) in Mainz.

Von dem Bewerber/der Bewerberin wird engagiertes und unabhängiges wissenschaftliches Arbeiten erwartet. Arbeitsort wird die Johannes Gutenberg-Universität Mainz sein.

Der hochpräzise Vergleich grundlegender Eigenschaften eines Teilchens und seines Antiteilchens ermöglicht strenge Tests der CPT-Symmetrie (C: Ladung, P: Parität, T: Zeit) des Standardmodells. Die Experimente der BASE-Kollaboration external Link befassen sich mit dem Vergleich fundamentaler Eigenschaften von Protonen und Antiprotonen mittels Bestimmung und Vergleich ihrer Ladung-zu-Masse-Verhältnisse und magnetischen Momente (g-Faktoren) in Penningfallen.
In den letzten Jahren wurde durch BASE die Präzision der g-Faktor-Messungen von Proton und Antiproton mehrfach verbessert. Eine weitere signifikante Erhöhung der Messgenauigkeit ist durch den Einsatz einer neuen sympathetischen Kühlmethode möglich. In Mainz wurde hierzu ein neues Fallensystem aus fünf Fallen aufgebaut. Aufgabe des Bewerbers/der Bewerberin ist die technische Entwicklungsarbeit zur Anwendung der sympathetischen Laserkühlung auf Protonen.

Die Stellenbewerber werden gebeten, die üblichen Bewerbungsunterlagen (Lebenslauf, Kopie von Diplom- und Doktorarbeit) an Prof. Dr. Klaus Blaum zu senden (Postadresse: Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Postfach 10 39 80, 69029 Heidelberg).