Skip to main content  ∨   Page logos with links to institutions:
Max Planck Society Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics University of Heidelberg
Stored and Cooled Ions Division
 
Max Planck SocietyMax Planck Institute for Nuclear PhysicsUniversity of Heidelberg Stored and Cooled Ions Division
Superordinated navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  Deutsch  |  Sitemap  |  Search  |  Contact
Section navigation:

PhD student positions

PhD thesis: Mass spectrometry on short-lived radionuclides at TRIGA-TRAP

Experimental setup of TRIGA-SPEC at the Research Reactor of University Mainz

We are looking for a motivated doctoral student with background in physics having an MSc., Diploma or equivalent, to join our research project at TRIGA-TRAP. He or she will work on exciting science projects and receive funding for the entire duration of the PhD.

The Penning-trap mass spectrometer TRIGA-TRAP located at the research reactor TRIGA Mainz external Link aims for mass measurements on short-lived fission products of uranium and californium. High-precision mass measurements on these nuclides can be used to enhance the predictive power of nuclear models and mass formulas on the neutron-rich side of the chart of nuclides. This is of particular interest to improve the understanding of the rapid neutron capture process (r-process) in stellar nucleosynthesis, and to determine the position of the neutron drip line. Measurements on these nuclides are challenging due to their short half-lives and low production rates. In addition, it is possible to perform direct mass measurements on transuranium elements using a laser-ablation ion source using small samples of about 1015 atoms. The precision of the mass surface in this mass region can be improved, since direct mass measurements of elements heavier than uranium are scarce. The experimental atomic mass data beyond uranium and information on their nuclear structure rely mostly on a network of nuclear transitions anchored to several uranium isotopes. This network has been established by decay-energy measurements, often limited by insufficient information on the level schemes and decay paths. Penning-trap mass spectrometry provides the possibility to measure directly the energy difference between mother and daughter ground states, independent of sample specific parameters, thus offering a complementary, accurate approach on the determination of the strength of nuclear shell closures. Such a shell closure, for example, manifests as sudden drop in the two-neutron separation energy S2n.

The following techniques can be learned and improved at TRIGA-TRAP:

  • Production and detection of (radioactive) ion beams
  • Ion optics, beam transport and diagnostics
  • Storage and cooling of ions
  • High-precision mass spectrometry techniques with Penning traps
  • Data analysis
  • Automatization of measurement processes with LabView and CS control system

Scientific goals for a PhD thesis are:

  • First mass measurements of short-lived radionuclides with the non-destructive FT-ICR detection system at TRIGA-TRAP

The scientific results obtained at TRIGA-TRAP can be submitted as PhD thesis to the University of Heidelberg (in German or English).

The PhD position is limited to a duration of 3 years. Applications should be sent to Prof. Dr. Klaus Blaum (postal address: Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, P.O. Box 10 39 80, D-69029 Heidelberg, Germany). For further information please contact Prof. Dr. Klaus Blaum () or Dr. Szilard Nagy ().

springe zum Hauptinhalt  ∨   Seitenlogos mit Links zu Institutionen:
Max-Planck-Gesellschaft Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik Universität Heidelberg
Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
 
Max-Planck-GesellschaftMax-Planck-Institut für KernphysikUniversität Heidelberg Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
Übergeordnete Navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  English  |  Sitemap  |  Suche  |  Kontakt
Bereichs-Navigation:

Doktorandenstellen

Doktorarbeit: Massenspektrometrie an kurzlebigen Radionukliden an TRIGA-TRAP

Experimenteller Aufbau von TRIGA-SPEC am Forschungsreaktor der Universität Mainz

Wir suchen eine Doktorandin / einen Doktorand mit M.Sc., Diplom oder äquivalentem Abschluss in Physik, die /der an unserem Forschungsprojekt an TRIGA-TRAP teilnehmen möchte. Er oder sie wird dabei an spannenden wissenschaftlichen Projekten arbeiten und während der gesamten Promotionszeit finanziell unterstützt werden.

Das Penningfallenmassenspektrometer TRIGA-TRAP befindet sich am Forschungsreaktor TRIGA Mainz externer Link mit dem Ziel Kernbindungsenergien von kurzlebigen Spaltprodukten von Uran und Californium zu bestimmen. Messungen an diesen im Reaktor erzeugten Nukliden sind aufgrund ihrer geringen Produktionsrate und Halbwertszeit herausfordernd. Hochpräzise Massenmessungen an diesen Nukliden verbessern die Vorhersagekraft von Kernmodellen auf der neutronenreichen Seite der Nuklidkarte weit entfernt vom Tal der Stabilität. Des Weiteren sind sie für das bessere Verständnis des schnellen Neutroneneinfangprozesses (r-Prozess) in der Nukleosynthese und zur Bestimmung der Neutronenabbruchkante von Interesse. Zudem besteht die Möglichkeit, kleine Proben von Transuranelementen, bestehend aus ca. 1015 Atomen, durch Laserablation zu untersuchen und so durch direkte Massenmessungen die Genauigkeit der Kernbindungsenergien dieser Elemente zu verbessern. Die experimentellen atomaren Massendaten für Elemente jenseits von Uran sowie die Informationen über deren Kernstruktur beruhen im Wesentlichen auf einem Netzwerk von Kernübergängen, die in verschiedenen Uranisotopen verankert sind. Dieses Netzwerk wurde durch Zerfallsenergiemessungen etabliert, die häufig durch unzureichende Informationen über die Energieniveaus und Zerfallspfade limitiert waren. Penningfallen-Massenspektrometrie ermöglicht die direkte Messung der Energiedifferenz zwischen den Grundzuständen des Mutter- und Tochterkerns unabhängig von den spezifischen Parametern der Probe. Hierdurch eröffnet sie einen komplementären exakten Zugang zur Bestimmung der Stärke von Kernschalenabschlüssen. Ein solcher Kernschalenabschluss manifestiert sich beispielsweise in einem plötzlichen Abfall der Zwei-Neutronen-Separationsenergie S2n.

Während der Arbeit an TRIGA-TRAP werden folgende Techniken vermittelt:

  • Produktion und Nachweis von (radioaktiven) Ionenstrahlen
  • Ionenoptik, Strahlführung und -diagnose
  • Kühlen und Speichern von Ionen
  • Hochpräzisionsmassenspektrometrie mit Penningfallen
  • Datenanalyse
  • Automatisierung von Messprozessen mit LabView und CS control system

Wissenschaftliche Ziele für eine Promotion sind:

  • Erste Massemessungen von kurzlebigen Radionukliden mit dem nicht-destruktiven FT-ICR Detektionssystem an TRIGA-TRAP

Die wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse, die am TRIGA-TRAP Experiment erzielt werden, können an der Universität Heidelberg zur Dissertation (in deutscher oder englischer Sprache) eingereicht werden.

Die angebotene Stelle ist auf 3 Jahre befristet. Die Bewerbungsunterlagen sind an Prof. Dr. Klaus Blaum zu senden (Postadresse: Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik, Postfach 10 39 80, 69029 Heidelberg). Bei Interesse oder Fragen können sie auch Kontakt mit Prof. Dr. Klaus Blaum () oder mit Dr. Szilard Nagy () aufnehmen.