Skip to main content  ∨   Page logos with links to institutions:
Max Planck Society Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics University of Heidelberg
Stored and Cooled Ions Division
 
Max Planck SocietyMax Planck Institute for Nuclear PhysicsUniversity of Heidelberg Stored and Cooled Ions Division
Superordinated navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  Deutsch  |  Sitemap  |  Search  |  Contact
Section navigation:

Contact  Contact


Tel.: +49 6221 516-851
Fax: +49 6221 516-852
Postal Address
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics
P.O. Box 10 39 80
69029 Heidelberg
Visitor Address
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics
Saupfercheckweg 1
Building: Gentner lab,
room 134
69117 Heidelberg

 

THe-TRAP Project

Physical basics

While a mass measurement in everyday life is often based on measuring a force, for example personal or postal scales, this concept is not sufficient for our required accuracy and is no longer applicable to atomic particles. To get an idea of the desired accuracy, two comparisons with everyday life can be made. E.g. the mass of the currently largest commercial aircraft the Airbus A380 externer Link with a maximum takeoff weight of 560 tons. With an accuracy of 10-11 it can be measured with an uncertainty of 5.6 mg. This is approximately the mass of one human hair. Applied to the Earth circumference of 40.000 km, this would have to be measured with a precision of 0.4mm.

 

The graph shows an ideal hyperbolic Penning trap.
Fig. 3.1: The graph shows an ideal hyperbolic Penning trap. It consists of three hyperbolic electrodes (endcap, ring, endcap), which generate an ideal quadrupole potential. The electric field generated by the electrodes is overlaid with a uniform magnetic field B0 in the z direction.

Instead of a force measurement, Penning trap mass spectrometry measures massdependent frequencies. In a uniform magnetic field the Lorentz force confines charged particle on a circular orbit. The frequency of the movement

νc = 1/2π ⋅ q/m ⋅ B0(3.1)

is called free-space cyclotron frequency νc. Here q is the known charge, m the derived mass of the particle and B0 the magnetic field. For a full spatial storage of the ion perpendicular to the plane of the cyclotron motion an electric field must be applied, which (see Figure 3.1) is generated by hyperbolic electrodes. This changes the motion of the ion in the trap and the three resulting eigenmotions can be described by three independent frequencies. These are

  • the axial frequency

νz = 1/2π ⋅ √(q/m ⋅ U0/d2)(3.2)

  • the reduced cyclotron frequency

ν+ = νc/2 + √(ν2c/4 - ν2z/2)(3.3)

  • and the magnetron frequency

ν- = νc/2 - √(ν2c/4 - ν2z/2)(3.4)

Here U0 is the voltage applied to the electrode and d is a characteristic trap size, which for hyperbolic traps results from the boundary conditions imposed by the electrodes. The invariance theorem states that the free-space cyclotron frequency can be calculated by summing up of the independent frequencies in quadrature:

ν2c = ν2z + ν2+ + ν2-(3.5)

In the experiment, νc will be determined for tritium and helium-3 and from this we get the frequency ratio for these elements, which leads to a mass ratio, if the magnetic field is stable enough.

springe zum Hauptinhalt  ∨   Seitenlogos mit Links zu Institutionen:
Max-Planck-Gesellschaft Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik Universität Heidelberg
Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
 
Max-Planck-GesellschaftMax-Planck-Institut für KernphysikUniversität Heidelberg Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
Übergeordnete Navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  English  |  Sitemap  |  Suche  |  Kontakt
Bereichs-Navigation:

Kontakt  Kontakt


Tel.: +49 6221 516-851
Fax: +49 6221 516-852
Postadresse
Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik
Postfach 10 39 80
69029 Heidelberg
Besucheradresse
Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik
Saupfercheckweg 1
Gebäude: Gentnerlabor, Raum 134
69117 Heidelberg

 

THe-TRAP-Projekt

Physikalische Grundlagen

Während eine Massenmessung im Alltag häufig auf der Messung einer Kraft beruht, z.B. bei Personen- oder Briefwaagen, ist dieses Konzept für unsere geforderten Genauigkeiten nicht mehr ausreichend und auf atomare Teilchen nicht anwendbar. Um eine Vorstellung für die angestrebte Genauigkeit zu bekommen, bieten sich zwei Vergleiche an. Würde anstatt der Masse eines einzelnen Ions das aktuell größte Verkehrsflugzeug, der Airbus A380 externer Link mit einem maximalen Startgewicht von 560 Tonnen auf 10-11 genau gewogen werden, so wäre die Ungenauigkeit nur 5,6 mg. Dies ist in etwa die Masse eines menschlichen Haares. Angewandt auf den Erdumfang von 40000 km, müsste dieser auf 0,4mm genau vermessen werden.

 

Das Schaubild zeigt eine ideale hyperbolische Penningfalle.
Abb. 3.1: Das Schaubild zeigt eine ideale hyperbolische Penningfalle. Sie besteht drei hyperbolischen Elektroden (Endkappe, Ring, Endkappe), welche ein möglichst ideales Quadrupolpotential erzeugen. Das von den Elektroden erzeugte elektrische Feld wird mit einem homogenen Magnetfeld B0 in z-Richtung überlagert.

Anstelle einer Kraftmessung wird ausgenutzt, dass sich ein Ion in einem magnetischen Feld durch die Lorentzkraft auf einer Kreisbahn bewegt. Die Umlauffrequenz

νc = 1/2π ⋅ q/m ⋅ B0(3.1)

wird freie Zyklotronfrequenz νc genannt. Dabei ist q der bekannte Ladungszustand, m die gesuchte Masse des Teilchens und B0 das Magnetfeld. Zur Speicherung des Ions muss senkrecht zur Ebene der Zyklotronbewegung ein elektrisches Feld angelegt werden, welches durch hyperbolische Elektroden (siehe Abbildung 3.1) erzeugt wird. Dies verändert die Bewegung des Ions in der Falle und die neue Bewegung lässt sich durch drei unabhängige Frequenzen beschreiben. Diese sind

  • die axiale Frequenz

νz = 1/2π ⋅ √(q/m ⋅ U0/d2)(3.2)

  • die reduzierte Zyklotronfrequenz

ν+ = νc/2 + √(ν2c/4 - ν2z/2)(3.3)

  • die Magnetronfrequenz

ν- = νc/2 - √(ν2c/4 - ν2z/2)(3.4)

Dabei ist U0 die an den Elektroden angelegte Spannung und d eine charakteristische Fallengröße, die sich bei hyperbolischen Fallen aus den von den Elektroden vorgegebenen Randbedingungen ergibt. Das Invarianztheorem besagt, dass durch die Summe der Quadrate der unabhängigen Frequenzen auf die freie Zyklotronfrequenz geschlossen werden kann:

ν2c = ν2z + ν2+ + ν2-(3.5)

Im Experiment wird νc für Tritium und für Helium-3 bestimmt und daraus das Massenverhältnis der beiden Elemente bestimmt.