Skip to main content  ∨   Page logos with links to institutions:
Max Planck Society Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics University of Heidelberg
Stored and Cooled Ions Division
 
Max Planck SocietyMax Planck Institute for Nuclear PhysicsUniversity of Heidelberg Stored and Cooled Ions Division
Superordinated navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  Deutsch  |  Sitemap  |  Search  |  Contact
Section navigation:

Contact  Contact


Tel.: +49 6221 516-851
Fax: +49 6221 516-852
Postal Address
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics
P.O. Box 10 39 80
69029 Heidelberg
Visitor Address
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics
Saupfercheckweg 1
Building: Gentner lab,
room 134
69117 Heidelberg

 

High-precision mass spectrometry

Motivation and Introduction

The mass is a relevant quantity in many physical models: masses of exotic short-lived nuclei are important for the investigation of the weak interaction and the Standard Model of particle physics, stable masses are used for the definition of natural constants [1].

Up to now, precision mass measurements on radio nuclides are performed in Penning traps using the destructive Time-of-Flight-Ion Cyclotron Resonance (TOF-ICR) method [1]. In this case, several hundred ions are needed for a single spectrum. According to a typical production rate of a few hundred ions per second and an overall efficiency of 1% it takes about an hour to record a spectrum. Production rates of superheavy ions with mass numbers in the region around 250 are remarkably lower (circa 1 ion per second). At the same time they have relative long half-lives (sometimes even in the range of seconds), which allows to apply the non-destructive FT-ICR method (see measurement principle) [2]. This method is already used in chemistry with several hundreds of ions stored simultaneously, but has to be improved to allow for single ion detection.

The measurement with single ions in the trap also reduces the frequency shift caused by image charges in the trap electrodes [3]. Another improvement of the uncertainty in mass determination can be achieved by using highly charged ions, which reduces the relative uncertainty δν of the cyclotron frequency νc = qB/(2πm).

^ to the top

Measurement Principle

Penning trap mass measurements are based on the precise determination of the cyclotron frequency νc = qB/(2πm). For this purpose, the destructive TOF-ICR method is commonly used at present. A cooled ion is stored with negligible radial kinetic energy inside the trap. The stored ion is excited to a well defined magnetron radius by external dipole excitation. An alternating electrical quadrupole field is applied to the typically four-fold segmented ring electrode. When the field frequency matches with the cyclotron frequency, the motion in the magnetron mode is transferred into the cyclotron mode. Since the frequency of the cyclotron mode is several orders of magnitude higher, the radial energy drastically increases. This radial energy can be measured by ejecting the ion out of the trap. The coupling of the magnetic moment of the orbital motion to the field gradient of the superconducting magnet transforms the radial energy into axial energy. Thus, the measurement of the time-of-flight towards a detector gives information about the original radial energy. By determining this time-of-flight with different excitation frequencies a spectrum can be recorded (see figure 1). The minimal time-of-flight corresponds exactly to the excitation with the cyclotron frequency of the ion. In order to improve this method, the so called Ramsey technique for quadrupole excitation has been established recently. In this case, the ion motion is not excited by a continuous quadrupole field, but by two short time-separated pulses. The resulting narrower resonances allow a more exact determination of the cyclotron frequency und thus a more precise mass determination.

Time-of-flight resonance curve with continuous excitation of 300 ms
Figure 1: Time-of-flight resonance curve with continuous excitation of 300 ms

The experiments performed here allow in addition to the classical time-of-flight analysis the non-destructive ion detection by means of the Fourier Transform-Ion Cyclotron Resonance (FT-ICR) method. Here, the image currents induced in the trap electrodes by the ions are measured and the corresponding frequency spectrum is determined by Fourier transform of the time signal. Together with a calibration of the missing parameters by reference ions the necessary information for the mass determination can be extracted.

However, the image currents of individual single charged ions are only in the range of several hundred Femto-Ampere (1 fA = 1E-15 A), in case of highly charged ions this number is multiplied with a factor according to the charge status. To get a good signal-to-noise ratio the detection bandwidth has to be reduced, since the thermal noise is proportional to its radix. Further noise reduction can be achieved by cooling of the electronics and the traps with liquid nitrogen (T = 77 K) resp. liquid helium (T = 4.2 K).

Narrow-band FT-ICR detection circuit
Figure 2: Narrow-band FT-ICR detection circuit - click for bigger version

The narrow-band detection circuit (Fig. 2) consists of a superconducting coil, that forms a parallel LC resonant circuit together with the unavoidable parasitic capacities of the trap and the feedthroughs. The quality factor, i.e. the ratio of the resonance frequency to the resonance width, has to amount several 1000 in order to guaranty a sufficient signal-to-noise ratio.

The voltage drop over the resonant circuit, being proportional to the image current, is amplified and then Fourier transformed.

References

[1] K. Blaum, Phys. Rep. 425, 1 (2006).
[2] S. Guan et al., Int. J. Mass Spectrom. Ion Process. 146/147, 261 (1995).
[3] R.S. van Dyck et al., Phys. Rev. A 40, 6308 (1989).

springe zum Hauptinhalt  ∨   Seitenlogos mit Links zu Institutionen:
Max-Planck-Gesellschaft Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik Universität Heidelberg
Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
 
Max-Planck-GesellschaftMax-Planck-Institut für KernphysikUniversität Heidelberg Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
Übergeordnete Navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  English  |  Sitemap  |  Suche  |  Kontakt
Bereichs-Navigation:

Kontakt  Kontakt


Tel.: +49 6221 516-851
Fax: +49 6221 516-852
Postadresse
Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik
Postfach 10 39 80
69029 Heidelberg
Besucheradresse
Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik
Saupfercheckweg 1
Gebäude: Gentnerlabor, Raum 134
69117 Heidelberg

 

Hochpräzisions - Massenspektrometrie

Motivation und Einführung

Massen spielen in vielen physikalischen Modellen eine Rolle: Massen exotischer kurzlebiger Kerne sind wichtig für die Untersuchung der schwachen Wechselwirkung und des Standardmodells der Elementarteilchenphysik, stabile Massen sind Mittel zur Definition von Naturkonstanten [1].

Bisher werden Präzisionsmassenmessungen an Radionukliden in Penningfallen mittels der destruktiven Flugzeitmethode durchgeführt [1]. In diesem Fall sind einige hundert Ionen für ein einzelnes Spektrum notwendig, was bei einer typischen Produktionsrate von wenigen hundert Ionen pro Sekunde und einer Effizienz von 1% etwa eine Stunde dauert. Produktionsraten superschwerer Ionen mit Massenzahlen um 250 liegen aber deutlich darunter (etwa 1 Ion pro Sekunde). Gleichzeitig besitzen sie aber verhältnismäßig lange Halbwertszeiten (Größenordnung Sekunden), was den Einsatz der nicht-destruktiven FT-ICR Methode möglich macht (siehe Messprinzip) [2]. Dieses aus der Chemie bekannte Verfahren muss jedoch so verbessert werden, dass einzelne Ionen nachgewiesen werden können.

Die Messung mit einzelnen Ionen in der Falle reduziert auch die Frequenzverschiebung aufgrund von Spiegelladungen in den Fallenelektroden [3]. Eine weitere Verbesserung der Unsicherheit in der Massenbestimmung kann durch den Übergang zu hochgeladenen Ionen erzielt werden, wodurch sich der relative Fehler der Zyklotronfrequenz νc = qB/(2πm) entsprechend reduziert.

^ nach oben

Messprinzip

Die Massenbestimmung mittels Penningfallen beruht auf der präzisen Bestimmung der Zyklotronfrequenz νc = qB/(2πm). Weit verbreitet ist hier die destruktive Methode der Flugzeitbestimmung. Ein gekühltes Ion wird in der Falle eingefangen, wobei die radiale Bewegungsenergie vernachlässigbar ist. Das gespeicherte Ion wird durch externe Dipolanregung auf einen wohl definierten Magnetronradius gebracht. An die typischerweise vierfach-segmentierte Ringelektrode wird ein quadrupolares, elektrisches Wechselfeld angelegt. Stimmt die Frequenz des Feldes mit der Zyklotronfrequenz überein, wird die Bewegung in der Magnetronmode in die Zyklotronmode überführt. Durch die um mehrere Größenordnungen höhere Frequenz der Zyklotronmode nimmt die Radialenergie drastisch zu. Diese Radialenergie kann nun gemessen werden, indem das Ion aus der Falle ausgeschossen wird, wobei die Kopplung des magnetischen Moments der Bahnbewegung an den Magnetfeldgradienten die Radialenergie in Axialenergie umwandelt. Eine Messung der Flugzeit zu einem Detektor gibt somit Auskunft über die ursprüngliche Radialenergie. Wird nun diese Flugzeit für verschiedene Anregungsfrequenzen gemessen, so erhält man ein Flugzeitspektrum wie in Abbildung 1 gezeigt. Das Minimum der Flugzeit liegt bei einer Frequenz, die der Zyklotronfrequenz des Ions entspricht. Zur Verbesserung der Flugzeitmethode wurde kürzlich die sogenannte Ramsey-Methode zur Quadrupolanregung eingeführt. Hierbei wird die Ionenbewegung nicht mehr durch ein kontinuierliches Quadrupolfeld angeregt, sondern durch zwei kurze zeitlich getrennte Pulse. Die dadurch erzielten verschmälerten Resonanzen erlauben eine genauere Bestimmung der Zyklotronfrequenz, und somit eine präzisere Massenbestimmung.

Flugzeitresonanzkurve mit einer kontinuierlichen Anregung von 300 ms
Abbildung 1: Flugzeitresonanzkurve mit einer kontinuierlichen Anregung von 300 ms

Die hier durchgeführten Experimente ermöglichen neben der klassischen Flugzeitanalyse den nicht-destruktiven Ionennachweis mittels des Fourier Transform-Ionen Zyklotron Resonanz (FT-ICR) Verfahrens. Dabei werden die von den Ionen in den Fallenelektroden induzierten Spiegelströme gemessen, deren Frequenzspektrum durch eine Fourier-Transformation bestimmt wird. Daraus können die für eine Massenbestimmung notwendigen Informationen im Zusammenspiel mit einer Kalibrierung der fehlenden Parameter durch Referenzionen extrahiert werden.

Die Spiegelströme einzelner einfach geladener Ionen liegen jedoch nur im Bereich einiger hundert Femto-Ampere (1 fA = 1E-15 A), bei hochgeladenen Ionen multipliziert sich diese Zahl entsprechend mit dem Ladungszustand. Um ein gutes Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis zu erhalten, muss die Bandbreite des Nachweises reduziert werden, da das thermische Rauschen proportional zur Wurzel daraus ist. Eine weitere Rauschverminderung erreicht man durch Kühlen der Elektronik und der Fallen mittels flüssigem Stickstoff (T = 77 K) bzw. flüssigem Helium (T = 4.2 K).

Schmalbandiger FT-ICR Nachweiskreis
Abbildung 2: Schmalbandiger FT-ICR Nachweiskreis - für größere Version Bild anklicken

Der schmalbandige Nachweiskreis (Abb. 2) besteht aus einer supraleitenden Spule, die in Verbindung mit den unvermeidlichen parasitären Kapazitäten der Falle und der Zuleitungen einen parallelen LC-Schwingkreis bildet. Dessen Güte, also das Verhältnis aus Resonanzfrequenz zu -breite, muss einige 1000 betragen, um ein ausreichendes Signal-Rausch-Verhältnis zu garantieren.

Der dem Spiegelstrom proportionale Spannungsabfall über dem Schwingkreis wird verstärkt und anschließend Fourier-transformiert.

Referenzen

[1] K. Blaum, Phys. Rep. 425, 1 (2006).
[2] S. Guan et al., Int. J. Mass Spectrom. Ion Process. 146/147, 261 (1995).
[3] R.S. van Dyck et al., Phys. Rev. A 40, 6308 (1989).