Skip to main content  ∨   Page logos with links to institutions:
Max Planck Society Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics University of Heidelberg
Stored and Cooled Ions Division
 
Max Planck SocietyMax Planck Institute for Nuclear PhysicsUniversity of Heidelberg Stored and Cooled Ions Division
Superordinated navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  Deutsch  |  Sitemap  |  Search  |  Contact
Section navigation:

Contact  Contact


Tel.: +49 6221 516-851
Fax: +49 6221 516-852
Postal Address
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics
P.O. Box 10 39 80
69029 Heidelberg
Visitor Address
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics
Saupfercheckweg 1
Building: Gentner lab,
room 134
69117 Heidelberg

 

The g-Factor of highly charged ions

precision trap with hydrogen-like ion

Motivation and Introduction

Quantum electrodynamics (QED) is one of the most important fundamental theories of the standard model. It describes the interaction between charged particles and electromagnetic fields at all energies and field strengths. QED is able to provide extremely accurate predictions for physical observables and until now all measurements have confirmed the QED predictions. Nevertheless, it is anticipated that QED might fail under extreme conditions and transitions into a superior theory.

The experiments in our group aim to test QED with very high precision under conditions as extreme as possible, especially extremely high field strengths. Since effects of bound-state QED (BS-QED) and hypothetical nonlinearities in theory scale with the field strength this gives an outlook on the limits of validity of fundamental theory. In order to do this, the bound electron in a highly charged ion, which is exposed to the extreme field strengths of the nucleus (up to 1016V/cm), is used as test object. The (spin) g-factor of this electron (the strength of the magnetic interaction of the spin) can be predicted very precisely and also can be experimental measured with comparable accuracy. The comparison of values resulting from theory and experiment can thus be used as an accurate test of BS-QED. Moreover, fundamental constants such as the electron mass me and the fine structure constant α enter the theoretical calculations. In the converse argument, experimental results can therefore be used for precise determinations of these fundamental quantities.

The g-factors of hydrogen-like carbon (H. Häffner et al. [4]) and oxygen (J. Verdú et al. [5]) and recently, after a major upgrade of the apparatus, hydrogen-like silicon have already been measured. These measurements are confirming the validity of the theoretical predictions ([2], [3]), yielding the most stringent test of QED in strong fields to date. The experiment, which is located at the university of Mainz, has been completely renewed and improved in recent years and allows now to measure the g-factors of significantly heavier systems up to hydrogenl-like calcium with drastically increased precision. At the MPIK in Heidelberg, a next-generation experiment, called ALPHATRAP, is currently developed, opening the way for a highly precise determination of the g-factor in extremely heavy systems up to hydrogenlike Pb.

^ to the top

The g-factor

The g-factor - also called Landé factor - describes the ratio of the magnetic moment μ of a particle and the total angular momentum J: μ = - gj (e/2me) J. J is the result of the vectorial composition of orbital angular momentum and spin: J = L + S (Figure 1).

Coupling of the vectors of spin S and orbital angular momentum L to the total angular momentum J according to the vector model

Figure 1: Coupling of the vectors of spin S and orbital angular momentum L to the total angular momentum J according to the vector model. The vectors S and L show a precessional motion around vector J.


In our experiment we analyse the spin motion. In the case of an electron we have |S| = ½ and the corresponding magnetic moment is denoted by μS. In an external magnetic field B the spin can take on but two discrete orientations out of quantum mechanical reasons, namely parallel or antiparallel to the direction of B (Figure 2).

The spin of a spin ½ particle and thus the magnetic moment have two potential orientations in an external magnetic field.

Figure 2: The spin of a spin ½ particle and thus the magnetic moment have two potential orientations in an external magnetic field. The external magnetic field has the strength B0 in z-direction. Here, gs is the g-factor and μB denotes the Bohr magneton.


These two states correspond to a Zeeman splitting with an energy L, where νL is just the classical Larmor precession frequency of a magnetic dipole. Determining this frequency the g-factor gS can be extracted from the relation above.

^ to the top

Measurement Principle

Electrically charged particles can be stored by a combination of a weak electrostatic and a strong homogeneous magnetic field. To this end we use a Penning trap system (see figure 3).

Schematic illustration of the Penning trap system used in the Mainz setup
Figure 3: Schematic illustration of the Penning trap system used in the Mainz setup (top). The gold-plated electrodes and the sapphire rings for electrical insulation (bottom).

By means of suitable electronic detection methods both the detection of the trapped particles and the reduction of their kinetic energy (cooling) down to values less than one meV are possible.

The measurements are performed on a single ions stored in a cryogenic Penning trap - the precision trap (PT). The ion exhibits an orbital motion because of the presence of the magnetic field, the so called cyclotron motion. This frequency of motion νc can be detected non-destructively by means of induced image charges and highly sensitive, partly superconductive detection. In a following step the Larmor frequency is determined. To this end the ion is adiabatically transported to the analysis trap (AT), where an inhomogeneity is purposely superimposed to the magnetic field to force the coupling of the spin direction to the motional frequencies of the ion. There, the spin of the ion has to be flipped by a suitable microwave irradiation. The spin flip can be observed in the form of quantum leaps exploiting the extremely accurate determination of the motional frequencies of the stored ion.

Quantum leaps of electron spin
Figure 4: Quantum leaps of electron spin, non-destructively detected by the continuous Stern-Gerlach effect as tiny change of the axial eigenfrequency of the stored ion.

Plotting the probability rate of successful spin flip vs. the frequency of the excitation field, the maximum of the spin flip rate (subject to certain corrections of the curve form) represents the Larmor frequency νL. The experimentally determined Larmor and cyclotron frequency yield the g-factor and thus the magnetic moment according to the simple relation:

g = 2(νLc)·(q/M)ion·(m/e)e- ,

where (q/M)ion and (e/m)e- are the charge-to-mass ratio of the ion and the electron, respectively.

Measured g-factor resonance of hydrogen-like silicon.
Figure 5: Measured g-factor resonance of hydrogen-like silicon 28Si13+. A number of such resonances allows the extraction of the g-factor with a precision of 2.6 · 10-10 [6].

^ to the top

Experimental Setup in Mainz

As shown in figure 3 the measurements of the g-factor are performed in a double Penning-trap system consisting of cylindrical electrodes. The ions with high charge states are produced internally by a combination of a target and an electron beam ion source (EBIS). In figure 6 the double Penning trap system is inserted into the bore of a superconducting magnet and cooled to 4 K by thermal contact with a liquid helium dewar. The complex electronic system is divided in cryo-electronics (above the vacuum chamber) and the room temperature electronics (attached to the hat).

Drawing of the experimental setup in Mainz.
Figure 6: Drawing of the experimental setup in Mainz.

^ to the top

Status

The experiment is fully set up and has provided the first data in 2011. The new improved cryogenic detection electronics shows a spectacular improvement of detection sensitivity and allows for the first time the measurement at very low temperatures close and below 4.2 K, which is the temperature of the cooled setup. Thereby, the apparatus is constantly being improved. A recently implemented superconducting self-shielded magnetic coil reduces the unwanted influence of external fluctuations of the magnetic field by almost 3 orders of magnitude. Moreover, the development and implementation of novel phase-sensitive detection technique called PnA [7] lead to a drastic improvement of the achievable precision of the measurements.

Altogether, these improvements finally allowed the measurement of the g-factor of 28Si13+, where the g-factor of the electron is measured with a relative uncertainty of 10-11 [6]. This measurement currently provides the most sensitive test of BS-QED. In another measurements series, the g-factor of the electron in lithiumlike 28Si11+ was measured to a level of 10-9 [8], serving as an extremely precise test of relativistic many-electron calculations in a magnetic field. In addition, the improved precision provides access to fundamental physical quantities as the electron mass. The re-measurement of the g-factor of carbon by use of the new PnA method resulted in the determination of the electron mass with a precision of about 30 parts-per-trillion, which improves the literature value by more than one order of magnitude [9,10]. Recently, the g-factors of the lithiumlike calcium isotopes 40Ca17+ and 48Ca17+ were measured to directly test the relativistic recoil effect [11].

^ to the top

Outlook

Pushing g-factor experiments to heavier systems with ionization energies over 100 keV, an ex-situ ion production is required. For this purpose, two experiments are under construction within the scope of the HITRAP initiative. The ALPHATRAP experiment at the Max Planck Institute of Nuclear Physics will be coupled to the existing Heidelberg EBIT (HD-EBIT). In that way, the g-factors of all ion systems delivered from the EBIT can be measured with highest precision via the continuous Stern-Gerlach effect. The ARTEMIS external Link experiment is located at the HITRAP facility, which is constructed at the GSI in Darmstadt. It will be specialized on laser-microwave double-resonance spectroscopy for heaviest highly charged ions.

The g-factor experiment in Mainz is currently upgraded. In an extended Penning trap tower, the atomic proton mass will be measured with a relative uncertainty of better than 1·10-11. Here, the cyclotron frequencies of the proton and a highly charged carbon ion will be measured alternately in a highly compensated Penning trap with unchanged field configuration. The impact of disturbing magnetic field fluctuations is significantly reduced by the simultaneous cyclotron frequency measurement of a highly charged ion located in a neighbouring reference trap. Subsequently, we aim for an improved mass of the neutron by the determination of the atomic mass of deuterium and its nuclear binding energy.

Schematic illustration of the new Penning trap system for the high precision measurement of the atomic mass of the proton.
Figure 7: Schematic illustration of the new Penning trap system for the high precision measurement of the atomic mass of the proton.

^ to the top

ALPHATRAP

For the measurement of the g-factor of the electron in extremely heavy ions, a novel cryogenic Penning trap, called ALPHATRAP, is currently set up at MPIK. It features an access to the Heidelberg EBIT [12], which can deliver even the heaviest highly charged ions up to 208Pb81+. With these systems it becomes possible to probe QED at the boundary of our knowledge in the most extreme fields. The ions are transported via a beamline including ion-optic elements and diagnostic stations to ALPHATRAP. There, the trap region is surrounded by a liquid-helium cryostat to provide a cryogenic environment. To ensure sufficient vacuum conditions for the storage of highly charged ions despite the connection to the room-temperature vacuum, a cryogenic vacuum valve is developed to cut the beamline off the trap setup. Besides mechanical differences due to the open system most technical elements can in principal be adopted from the Mainz setup. However, adjustments are necessary for several issues. For instance, the higher charge states of the ions lead to a corresponding systematic shift of the ion frequencies due to the image-charge effect and, thus, a larger trap diameter is needed compared to the Mainz-trap. Another example is the even more complex and extensive detection system, which is currently under development.

The new ALPHATRAP setup.
Figure 8: The new ALPHATRAP setup. Ions can be injected from the Heidelberg HD-EBIT via a beam-port from the top. The design is based on the Mainz apparatus, but numerous improvements and new technologies have been implemented.

^ to the top

Open positions and contact

In order to realize the numerous measurement tasks and to achieve further improvements both for the Mainz setup and for the development of ALPHATRAP, we currently intend to strengthen our team with diploma and/or PhD students. Feel free to contact Dr. Sven Sturm () and Alexander Egl ().

^ to the top

References

[1] Fine structure of the hydrogen atom by a microwave method
W.E. Lamb and R.C. Retherford
Phys. Rev. 72, 241 (1947) externer Link
[2] gj factor of an electron bound in a hydrogenlike ion
T. Beier, H. Häffner, N. Hermanspahn, I. Lindgren, H. Persson, S. Salomonson and P. Sunnergren
Phys. Rev. A 62, 032510 (2000) externer Link
[3] Self-energy correction to the bound-electron g factor in H-like ions
V.A. Yerokhin, P. Indelicato and V.M. Shabaev
Phys. Rev. Lett. 89, 143001 (2002) externer Link
[4] High-accuracy measurements of the magnetic moment anomaly of the electron bound in hydrogenlike carbon.
H. Häffner, T. Beier, N. Hermanspahn, H. J. Kluge, W. Quint, S. Stahl, J. Verdú and G. Werth
Phys. Rev. Lett. 85, 5308 (2000) externer Link
[5] Electronic g factor of hydrogenlike Oxygen 16O7+
J. Verdú, T. Beier, S. Djekic, H. J. Kluge,W. Quint, S. Stahl, T. Valenzuela, M. Vogel and G. Werth
Phys. Rev. Lett. 92, 093002 (2004) externer Link
[6] g Factor of Hydrogenlike 28Si13+
S. Sturm, A. Wagner, B. Schabinger, J. Zatorski, Z. Harman, W. Quint, G. Werth, C. H. Keitel, and K. Blaum
Phys. Rev. Lett. 107, 023002 (2011) externer Link
[7] Phase-Sensitive Cyclotron Frequency Measurements at Ultralow Energies
Sven Sturm, Anke Wagner, Birgit Schabinger, and Klaus Blaum
Phys. Rev. Lett. 107, 143003 (2011) externer Link
[8] g Factor of Lithiumlike Silicon 28Si11+
A. Wagner, S. Sturm, F. Köhler, D. A. Glazov, A. V. Volotka, G. Plunien, W. Quint, G. Werth, V. M. Shabaev, and K. Blaum
Phys. Rev. Lett. 110, 033003 (2013) externer Link
[9] High-precision measurement of the atomic mass of the electron
S. Sturm, F. Köhler, J. Zatorski, A. Wagner, Z. Harman, G. Werth, W. Quint, C. H. Keitel, and K. Blaum
Nature 506, 467-470 (2014) externer Link
[10] The electron mass from g-factor measurements on hydrogen-like carbon 12C5+
F. Köhler, S. Sturm, A. Kracke, G. Werth, W. Quint and K. Blaum
J. Phys. B: At. Mol. Opt. Phys. 48, 144032 (2015) externer Link
[11] Isotope dependence of the Zeeman effect in lithium-like calcium
F. Köhler, K. Blaum, M. Block, S. Chenmarev, S. Eliseev, D. A. Glazov, M. Goncharov, J. Hou, A. Kracke, D. A. Nesterenko, Y. N. Novikov, W. Quint, E. Minaya Ramirez, V. M. Shabaev, S. Sturm. A. V. Volotka and G. Werth
Nat. Commun. 7, 10246 (2016) externer Link
[12] Optimization of the charge state distribution of the ion beam extracted from an EBIT by dielectronic recombination
J. R. Crespo López-Urrutia, J. Braun1, G. Brenner, H. Bruhns, A. Lapierre, A. J. González Martı́nez, V. Mironov, R. Soria Orts, H. Tawara, M. Trinczek and J. Ullrich
Rev. Sci. Instrum. 75, 1560 (2004) externer Link

springe zum Hauptinhalt  ∨   Seitenlogos mit Links zu Institutionen:
Max-Planck-Gesellschaft Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik Universität Heidelberg
Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
 
Max-Planck-GesellschaftMax-Planck-Institut für KernphysikUniversität Heidelberg Abteilung für gespeicherte und gekühlte Ionen
Übergeordnete Navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  Home  |  English  |  Sitemap  |  Suche  |  Kontakt
Bereichs-Navigation:

Kontakt  Kontakt


Tel.: +49 6221 516-851
Fax: +49 6221 516-852
Postadresse
Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik
Postfach 10 39 80
69029 Heidelberg
Besucheradresse
Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik
Saupfercheckweg 1
Gebäude: Gentnerlabor, Raum 134
69117 Heidelberg

 

Der g-Faktor von hochgeladenen Ionen

Präzisionsfalle mit wasserstoffähnlichem Ion

Motivation und Einleitung

Die Quantenelektrodynamik (kurz QED) ist eine der bedeutendsten fundamentalen Theorien des Standardmodells. Sie beschreibt die Wechselwirkung von geladenen Teilchen mit elektromagnetischen Feldern, und zwar bei allen erreichbaren Energien und Feldstärken. Die QED ist in der Lage, extrem exakte Vorhersagen für physikalische Messgrößen zu liefern und bisher konnte in keiner Messung eine Abweichung von der Vorhersage beobachtet werden. Dennoch scheint es denkbar und wahrscheinlich, dass die QED unter extremen Bedingungen versagt und in eine übergeordnete Theorie übergeht.

Die Experimente in unserer Arbeitsgruppe haben das Ziel, die QED unter möglichst extremen Bedingungen, insbesondere extrem hohen Feldstärken, mit möglichst hoher Präzision zu testen und so einen Ausblick auf die Grenzen der Gültigkeit dieser fundamentalen Theorie zu ermöglichen. Als Testobjekt wird dabei das in einem hochgeladenen Ion gebundene Elektron genutzt, welches den extremen Feldstärken des Kerns (bis zu 1016 V/cm) ausgesetzt ist. Der (Spin-) g-Faktor dieses Elektrons (die Stärke der magnetischen Wechselwirkung des Spins) ist dabei von der QED sehr genau vorhersagbar und auch im Experiment mit vergleichbarer Genauigkeit messbar. Der Vergleich dieser beiden Werte stellt daher einen empfindlichen Test der QED in gebundenen Zustände (bound-state QED, BS-QED) dar. Darüberhinaus gehen Fundamentalkonstanten wie die Elektronenmasse me und die Feinstrukturkonstante α in die theoretischen Berechnungen ein. Im Umkehrschluss können daher die experimentellen Ergebnisse als präzise Bestimmung dieser fundamentalen Größen genutzt werden.

In der Vergangenheit wurden die g-Faktoren von wasserstoffähnlichem Kohlenstoff (H. Häffner et al. [4]) und Sauerstoff (J. Verdú et al. [5]) bereits gemessen. Diese Messungen bestätigten die Gültigkeit der theoretischen Vorhersagen ([2], [3]). Das Experiment wurde in den letzten Jahren von Grund auf erneuert und verbessert und erlaubt nun die Messung der g-Faktoren in deutlich schwereren Systemen, bei gleichzeitig drastisch erhöhter Präzision. Mit diesen Verbesserungen wurde schließlich die Messung des g-Faktors von 28Si13+ möglich, die aufgrund der höheren Ladung des Ions und der gleichzeitigen Verbesserung der Präzision des experimentellen Wertes und der theoretischen Vorhersage einen deutlich empfindlicheren Test der QED darstelllt.

Durch seine Weiterentwicklung erlaubt der experimentelle Aufbau, der an der Uni Mainz steht, Messungen des g-Faktors von deutlich schwereren Systemen bis zu wasserstoffähnlichem Kalzium. Am MPIK in Heidelberg wird darüberhinaus das Experiment ALPHATRAP entwickelt, welches die Möglichkeit zur hochpräzisen Messung des g-Faktors in extrem schweren Systemen bis zu wasserstoffähnlichem Blei bieten wird.

^ nach oben

Der g-Faktor

Der g-Faktor - auch Landé-Faktor genannt - beschreibt das Verhältnis des magnetischen Moments μ eines Teilchens zu dessen Gesamtdrehimpuls J: μ = - gj (e/2me) J. Dieser lässt sich aufspalten in Bahndrehimpuls und Spin: J = L + S (Abbildung 1).

Kopplung der Vektoren von Spin S und Bahndrehimpuls L zum Gesamtdrehimpuls J im Vektormodell

Abbildung 1: Kopplung der Vektoren von Spin S und Bahndrehimpuls L zum Gesamtdrehimpuls J im Vektormodell. Die Vektoren S und L präzedieren um den von ihnen aufgespannten Vektor J.


In unserem Experiment wird die Spinbewegung untersucht. Für ein Elektron ist |S| = ½, das dazugehörige magnetische Moment wird mit μS bezeichnet. In einem externen Magnetfeld gibt es aus quantenmechanischen Gründen für den Spin nur zwei diskrete Ausrichtungsmöglichkeiten, nämlich parallel oder antiparallel zur äußeren Feldrichtung (Abbildung 2).

Der Spin eines Spin ½ Teilchens und damit das magnetische Moment haben zwei Einstellmöglichkeiten in einem äußeren Magnetfeld.

Abbildung 2: Der Spin eines Spin ½ Teilchens und damit das magnetische Moment haben zwei Einstellmöglichkeiten in einem äußeren Magnetfeld. Das äußere Magnetfeld hat die Stärke B0 in z-Richtung. Hier ist gs der g-Faktor und μB das Bohr′sche Magneton.


Diese beiden Zustände entsprechen einer Zeeman-Aufspaltung, deren Energie L gerade der klassischen Lamor Präzessionsfrequenz νL eines magnetischen Dipols entspricht. Über die Bestimmung dieser Frequenz kann aus obiger Beziehung der g-Faktor gS extrahiert werden.

^ nach oben

Messprinzip

Elektrisch geladene Teilchen können durch Kombination eines schwachen elektrostatischen Feldes und eines starken homogenen Magnetfeldes gespeichert werden. Hierzu verwenden wir ein Penningfallensystem (siehe Abbildung 3).

Schematische Darstellung des Penningfallensystems
Abbildung 3: Schematische Darstellung des Penningfallensystems (oben). Die vergoldeten Elektroden und die Saphirringe zur elektrischen Isolation (unten).

Mittels geeigneter elektronischer Nachweismethoden können sowohl die gespeicherten Teilchen nachgewiesen werden als auch ihre kinetische Energie auf Werte unter 1 meV reduziert werden (Kühlung).

Die Messung wird an einem einzelnen wasserstoffähnlichen Siliziumion durchgeführt, welches in einer kryogenen Penningfalle, der Präzisionsfalle (PT), gespeichert ist. Aufgrund des Magnetfeldes wird das Ion zu einer Kreisbewegung gezwungen, die so genannte Zyklotronbewegung. Die Zyklotronfrequenz νc kann zerstörungsfrei durch induzierte Spiegelströme und den Einsatz einer hochempfindlichen, teilweise supraleitenden Nachweiselektronik nachgewiesen werden. Im nächsten Schritt wird die Larmorfrequenz bestimmt. Hierzu wird das Ion adiabatisch der Analysefalle (AT) zugeführt, wo dem Magnetfeld gezielt eine Inhomogenität überlagert wird, um die Kopplung der Spinrichtung an die Bewegungsfrequenzen des Ions zu bewirken. Der Ionenspin muss mittels geeigneter Mikrowellenstrahlung umgeklappt werden. Der Spin-Flip kann in Form von Quantensprüngen beobachtet werden, wobei die extrem genaue Bestimmung der Bewegungsfrequenzen der gespeicherten Ionen ausgenutzt wird.

Quantensprünge des Elektronenspins
Abbildung 4: Quantensprünge des Elektronenspins, nichtdestruktiv detektiert mittels des kontinuierlichen Stern-Gerlach Effektes als winzige Änderung der axialen Eigenfrequenz des gefangenen Ions.

Trägt man die Wahrscheinlichkeit für das erfolgreiche Umklappen des Spins gegen die Frequenz des Anregungsfeldes auf, so repräsentiert das Maximum der Umklapprate (vorbehaltlich gewisser Kurvenform-Korrekturen) die Larmorfrequenz νL. Aus beiden gemessen Frequenzen, Larmorfrequenz und Zyklotronfrequenz, ergibt sich der g-Faktor und damit das magnetische Moment gemäß folgendem einfachen Zusammenhang:

g = 2(νLc)·(q/M)ion·(m/e)e- ,

worin (q/M)ion und (e/m)e- die Ladungs-Masse-Verhältnisse des Ions beziehungsweise Elektrons sind.

Gemessene g-Faktor Resonanz von wasserstoffähnlichem Silizium.
Abbildung 5: Gemessene g-Faktor Resonanz von wasserstoffähnlichem Silizium 28Si13+. Eine Reihe derartiger Resonanzen erlaubt die Extraktion des g-Faktors mit einer Präzision von 2.6 · 10-10 [6].

^ nach oben

Experimenteller Aufbau in Mainz

Wie in Abbildung 6 zu erkennen, ist das Doppelpenningfallensystem in die Bohrung eines supraleitenden Magneten eingesetzt und wird durch thermischen Kontakt mit einem flüssigen Helium-Devar auf 4K heruntergekühlt. Das komplizierte Elektroniksystem ist unterteilt in die Kryoelektronik (oberhalb der Vakuumkammer) und die Raumtemperaturelektronik (angebracht am Hut des Aufbaus).

Skizze des experimentellen Aufbaus.
Abbildung 6: Skizze des experimentellen Aufbaus.

^ nach oben

Status

Das Experiment ist vollständig aufgebaut und hat 2011 die ersten Daten geliefert. Die neue, verbesserte kryogene Nachweiselektronik zeigt dabei eine spektakuläre Verbesserung der Nachweisempfindlichkeit und ermöglicht erstmals die Messung bei sehr niedrigen Temperaturen nahe und unterhalb des auf 4.2 K abgekühlten Aufbaus. Dabei wird die Apparatur ständig weiter verbessert. Eine kürzlich eingeführte supraleitende selbstabschirmende Magnetspule reduziert den unerwünschten Einfluss von externen Magnetfeldschwankungen um nahezu 3 Größenordnungen. Die Entwicklung und Implementation von neuartigen Nachweistechniken ermöglicht die drastische Verbesserung der erreichbaren Präzision [7].

Alles in allem haben die Verbesserungen schließlich zu einer Messung des g-Faktors von 28Si13+ mit einer relativen Unsicherheit von lediglich 10-11 geführt [6]. Die Messung stellt damit derzeit den empfindlichsten Test der BS-QED dar. In einer weiteren Messreihe wurde der g-Faktor des Elektrons in litiumähnlichem 28Si11+ auf einem Level von 10-9 gemessen [8], was als extrem präziser Test von relativistischen Berechnungen von Mehrelektronensystemen in einem Magnetfeld dient. Zusätzlich bietet die verbesserte Präzision Zugang zur Elektronenmasse. Die erneute Messung des g-Faktors des Elektrons in Kohlenstoff mithilfe der neuen PnA-Methode führte zur einer Bestimmung der Elektronenmasse mit einer relativen Präzision von 30 ppt, was den Literaturwert um mehr als eine Größenordnung verbessert [9,10]. Als letztes wurden die g-Faktoren der lithiumähnlichen Kalzium Isotope 40Ca17+ und 48Ca17+ bestimmt und aus der Differenz der relativistische Kernrückstoßeffekt direkt getestet [11].

^ nach oben

Ausblick

Um die g-Faktor Experimente noch weiter zu schwereren Systemen voranzutreiben, wird eine ex-situ Ionenproduktion nötig, um Ionisierungsenergien bis über 100 keV erreichen zu können. Dazu sind im Rahmen der HITRAP Kollaboration zwei Experimente im Aufbau. Das ALPHATRAP Experiment am Max-Planck Institut für Kernphysik wird an die bestehende Heidelberger EBIT (HD-EBIT) gekoppelt und kann so flexibel alle von der EBIT gelieferten Systeme mittels des kontinuierlichen Stern-Gerlach Effektes mit allerhöchster Präzision vermessen. Das ARTEMIS external Link Experiment ist an der im Aufbau befindlichen HITRAP Anlage (GSI Darmstadt) angesiedelt und auf die Laser-Doppelresonanzspektroskopie in schwersten hochgeladenen Ionen spezialisiert.

Das g-Faktor Experiment in Mainz befindet sich zurzeit in einer Upgradephase. In einem erweiterten Penningfallen-Turm wird die atomare Masse des Protons mit einer relativen Genauigkeit von besser als 1·10-11 gemessen. In einer hochgradig kompensierten Penningfalle wird hierbei abwechselnd die Zyklotronfrequenz des Protons und eines hochgeladenen Kohlenstoffions bei gleichbleibender Feldkonfiguration phasensensitiv gemessen. Durch die jeweils simultane Zyklotronfrequenzmessung eines hochgeladenen Ions in einer direkt benachbarten Referenzfalle wird der Einfluss unerwünschter Magnetfeldschwankungen deutlich reduziert. Im Anschluss ist über die Bestimmung der Masse von Deuterium und seiner Kernbindungsenergie eine Verbesserung der Masse des Neutrons geplant.

Schematische Darstellung des neuen Penningfallensystems zur Bestimmung der atomaren Masse des Protons.
Abbildung 7: Schematische Darstellung des neuen Penningfallensystems zur Bestimmung der atomaren Masse des Protons. In der Messfalle wird bei gleichbleibender Feldkonfiguration abwechselnd die Zyklotronfrequenz von einem Proton und einem hochgeladenem Kohlenstoffion gemessen. Während diesen Frequenzmessungen wird das jeweils gerade nicht benötigte Ion in einer der benachbarten Speicherfallen zwischengespeichert. Um Magnetfeldschwankungen deutlich zu reduzieren wird simultan zur Zyklotronfrequenz Messung in der Messfalle die Zyklotronfrequenz eines schwereren hochgeladenen Ions in der Referenzfalle gemessen.

^ nach oben

ALPHATRAP

Zur Messung des g-Faktors des Elektrons in extrem schweren Ionen wird derzeit am MPIK eine neue kryogene Penningfalle namens ALPHATRAP entwickelt. Für die Falle besteht Zugang zur Heidelberg EBIT [12], welche extrem schwere hochgeladene Ionen bis zu 208Pb81+ liefern kann. Mit solchen Systemen ist es möglich die QED in extremen Feldstärken an der Grenze unseres Wissens zu testen. Die Ionen werden über eine Beamline mit Ionenoptikelementen und Diagnoseeinheiten zu ALPHATRAP transportiert. Die Falle ist in einem Flüssigheliumkryostaten angebracht, um eine kryogene Umgebung bereitzustellen. Um geeignete Hochvakuumbedingungen zur Speicherung von hochgeladenen Ionen sicherzustellen, wurde ein kryogenes Vakuumventil entwickelt um die Beamline mit Raumtemperaturvakuum von der Fallenregion zu trennen.

Außer den mechanischen Unterschieden durch den offenen Aufbau können die meisten technischen Elemente prinzipiell aus dem Mainzer Aufbau übernommen werden. Es sind jedoch Anpassungen aus verschiedenen Gründen nötig. Beispielsweise führen die hohen Ladungszustände zu einer systematischen Verschiebung der Ionenfrequenzen aufgrund eines Spiegelladungseffektes. Dadurch wird ein im Vergleich zur Mainzer Falle größerer Falleninnenradius zwingend nötig. Ein weiteres Beispiel ist ein noch komplexeres und anspruchsvolleres Detektionssystem, welches im Moment entwickelt wird.

Der neue ALPHATRAP-Aufbau.
Abbildung 8: Der neue ALPHATRAP-Aufbau. Die Ionen werden von oben aus der Heidelberg-EBIT eingeschossen. Das Design basiert auf dem Aufbau in Mainz, jedoch werden einige Verbesserungen und Neuerungen implementiert.

^ nach oben

Stellenangebote und Kontakt

Um das intensive Messprogramm durchführen zu können und weitere zahlreiche Verbesserungen und Entwicklungen sowohl am Aufbau in Mainz als auch an ALPHATRAP realisieren zu können, soll derzeit unser Team generell mit Bachelor-, Master- oder PhD-Studenten verstärkt werden. Bei Interesse wenden Sie sich bitte an Dr. Sven Sturm () oder Alexander Egl ().

^ nach oben

Referenzen

[1] Fine structure of the hydrogen atom by a microwave method
W.E. Lamb and R.C. Retherford
Phys. Rev. 72, 241 (1947) externer Link
[2] gj factor of an electron bound in a hydrogenlike ion
T. Beier, H. Häffner, N. Hermanspahn, I. Lindgren, H. Persson, S. Salomonson and P. Sunnergren
Phys. Rev. A 62, 032510 (2000) externer Link
[3] Self-energy correction to the bound-electron g factor in H-like ions
V.A. Yerokhin, P. Indelicato and V.M. Shabaev
Phys. Rev. Lett. 89, 143001 (2002) externer Link
[4] High-accuracy measurements of the magnetic moment anomaly of the electron bound in hydrogenlike carbon.
H. Häffner, T. Beier, N. Hermanspahn, H. J. Kluge, W. Quint, S. Stahl, J. Verdú and G. Werth
Phys. Rev. Lett. 85, 5308 (2000) externer Link
[5] Electronic g factor of hydrogenlike Oxygen 16O7+
J. Verdú, T. Beier, S. Djekic, H. J. Kluge,W. Quint, S. Stahl, T. Valenzuela, M. Vogel and G. Werth
Phys. Rev. Lett. 92, 093002 (2004) externer Link
[6] g Factor of Hydrogenlike 28Si13+
S. Sturm, A. Wagner, B. Schabinger, J. Zatorski, Z. Harman, W. Quint, G. Werth, C. H. Keitel, and K. Blaum
Phys. Rev. Lett. 107, 023002 (2011) externer Link
[7] Phase-Sensitive Cyclotron Frequency Measurements at Ultralow Energies
Sven Sturm, Anke Wagner, Birgit Schabinger, and Klaus Blaum
Phys. Rev. Lett. 107, 143003 (2011) externer Link
[8] g Factor of Lithiumlike Silicon 28Si11+
A. Wagner, S. Sturm, F. Köhler, D. A. Glazov, A. V. Volotka, G. Plunien, W. Quint, G. Werth, V. M. Shabaev, and K. Blaum
Phys. Rev. Lett. 110, 033003 (2013) externer Link
[9] High-precision measurement of the atomic mass of the electron
S. Sturm, F. Köhler, J. Zatorski, A. Wagner, Z. Harman, G. Werth, W. Quint, C. H. Keitel, and K. Blaum
Nature 506, 467-470 (2014) externer Link
[10] The electron mass from g-factor measurements on hydrogen-like carbon 12C5+
F. Köhler, S. Sturm, A. Kracke, G. Werth, W. Quint and K. Blaum
J. Phys. B: At. Mol. Opt. Phys. 48, 144032 (2015) externer Link
[11] Isotope dependence of the Zeeman effect in lithium-like calcium
F. Köhler, K. Blaum, M. Block, S. Chenmarev, S. Eliseev, D. A. Glazov, M. Goncharov, J. Hou, A. Kracke, D. A. Nesterenko, Y. N. Novikov, W. Quint, E. Minaya Ramirez, V. M. Shabaev, S. Sturm. A. V. Volotka and G. Werth
Nat. Commun. 7, 10246 (2016) externer Link
[12] Optimization of the charge state distribution of the ion beam extracted from an EBIT by dielectronic recombination
J. R. Crespo López-Urrutia, J. Braun1, G. Brenner, H. Bruhns, A. Lapierre, A. J. González Martı́nez, V. Mironov, R. Soria Orts, H. Tawara, M. Trinczek and J. Ullrich
Rev. Sci. Instrum. 75, 1560 (2004) externer Link