Skip to main content  ∨   Page logos with links to institutions:
Max Planck Society Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics University of Heidelberg
Stored and Cooled Ions Division
Max Planck SocietyMax Planck Institute for Nuclear PhysicsUniversity of Heidelberg Archive Stored and Cooled Ions Division
Superordinated navigation: MPIK Homepage  |  New Homepage  |  Deutsch
Section navigation:

Contact  Contact

Tel.: +49 6221 516-851
Fax: +49 6221 516-852
Postal Address
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics
P.O. Box 10 39 80
69029 Heidelberg
Visitor Address
Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics
Saupfercheckweg 1
Building: Gentner lab,
room 134
69117 Heidelberg


Press Archive 2019

13.06.19: Andreas Mooser receives IUPAP Young Scientist Prize 2019
Dr. Andreas Mooser, winner of the IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 2019

Our division member Dr. Andreas Mooser has been selected to receive the "IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics 2019" together with Dr. Christian Smorra (RIKEN and Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz).
The prize will be granted on July 29, 2019 on the "XXXIst International Conference on Photonic, Electronic and Atomic Collisions (ICPEAC)" at Deauville, Normandy, France. It includes a certificate, a medal and an invited presentation at ICPEAC.

Dr. Andreas Mooser received his Ph.D. in 2014 from the Johannes Gutenberg-University of Mainz for the first direct observation of single spin-transitions and the first direct high-precision measurement of the nuclear magnetic moment of a single proton.
The methods he applied to a single nucleon stored in a Penning trap for the first time can directly be applied to measure the antiproton magnetic moment. Subsequently such measurements were performed by the BASE collaboration at the Antiproton Decelerator of CERN.
The comparison of the magnetic moments of the proton and antiproton provides a stringent test of CPT invariance (Charge, Parity, and Time Reversal) with single protons and antiprotons.

We cordially congratulate Dr. Andreas Mooser on receiving this distinction of his scientific work.

Please read more in the press releases of the MPIK external Link (in German) and the IUPAP external Link.

11.04.19: Inauguration of the Max Planck-RIKEN-PTB Center

On April 8, 2019, the inauguration of the Max Planck-RIKEN-PTB Center external Link for Time, Constants and Fundamental Symmetries, took place at RIKEN, Tokyo, Japan.
For this event, a symposium was organized with invited speakers Marianna Safronova (Univ. Delaware) and Yoshiro Takahashi (Kyoto University), and center speakers Klaus Blaum (MPG), Ekkehard Peik (PTB), and Stefan Ulmer (RIKEN). Guests like Prof. M. Stratmann (President MPG), Prof. J. Ullrich (President PTB), Prof. S. Koyasu and Prof. M. Kotani (RIKEN Executive Directors), and Dr. H. von Werthern, the ambassador of Germany in Japan, joined the event.

Please read also the news of RIKEN external Link, PTB external Link and BASE external Link.

Information of the Max Planck Society on the new Max Planck-RIKEN-PTB Center:

01.04.19: Klaus Blaum for the second time awarded with an ERC Advanced Grant

The four fundamental interactions and their symmetries, the fundamental constants and the properties of elementary particles, e.g. their masses, define the fundamental structure of the universe and form the basis of the well-established Standard Model of physics.

In 2011, Klaus Blaum already received an ERC Advanced Grant for the determination of fundamental constants ("MEFUCO", see our press release of 31.10.11). In his 2nd ERC Advanced Grant external Link named "FunI", he focuses on the fundamental interactions. FunI will be supported with € 2.5 million for a period of 5 years.
Klaus Blaum's group will e.g. perform experiments with stored highly charged ions for stringent tests of quantum electrodynamics and special relativity. The latter will be tested by an improved examination of the mass-energy equivalence (E=mc2).

In order to significantly improve present accuracy limits, technical innovations, e.g. the sympathetic laser cooling of single ions, are also planned within FunI.

Please read more in the press releases of the MPIK external Link, the MPG external Link and the ERC external Link.

24.01.19: Klaus Blaum elected to the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
Prof. Klaus Blaum, new foreign member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences

Our division director Prof. Klaus Blaum received a great honor: on January 16th, he was elected as foreign member of the Physics Class of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, together with Richard Brenner, Uppsala University and the two new Swedish members Tünde Fülöp, Chalmers University of Technology and Stefan Kröll, Lund University.
We cordially congratulate Klaus Blaum on receiving this great honor!

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences was founded in 1739 and is an independent non-governmental organisation, whose overall objective is to promote the sciences, in particular the natural sciences and mathematics, and strengthen their influence in society. Today it has about 470 Swedish and 175 foreign members which are divided into ten "classes", representing ten various scientific disciplines.
Every year the academy awards the Nobel Prizes in Physics and in Chemistry as well as other prestigious awards.

Please read more in the press releases of the MPIK external Link (idw external Link) and the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences external Link.

07.01.19: New Max Planck-RIKEN-PTB Center launched

The Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics external Link (MPIK), the Max Planck Institute of Quantum Optics external Link (MPQ), the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt external Link (PTB) and Japan's largest comprehensive research institution RIKEN external Link have proposed a new research center to intensify their successful collaboration in the domain of "Time, Constants and Fundamental Symmetries".

The application of this Max Planck-RIKEN-PTB Center for Time, Constants and Fundamental Symmetries has been approved in October 2018 for five years. The new initiative started on January 1, 2019, the official opening ceremony will be on April 8, 2019 at RIKEN in Tokyo, Japan. The total financial budget will be about 1.5 M€ per year, shared equally between MPG, PTB and RIKEN. The research center will be operated by three Co-Directors: Klaus Blaum (MPG), Ekkehard Peik (PTB), and Stefan Ulmer (RIKEN).

The MPIK participates with two divisions in the "Center for Time, Constants and Fundamental Symmetries", our division on “Physics with Stored and Cooled Ions” leaded by Klaus Blaum and the division of Thomas Pfeifer on "Quantum Dynamics and Control".

The new Max Planck-RIKEN-PTB Center will provide a synergetic and close collaboration, especially on the students' level, between experimental groups in atomic physics, antimatter physics, nuclear physics, quantum optics and metrology to tackle fore-front topics in precision measurements of time and constants of nature, to test fundamental symmetries and contribute to ultra-high precision searches for physics beyond the Standard Model of particle physics.
The leaders of the Max Planck-RIKEN-PTB Center expect that the intensified collaboration will lead to the development of novel experimental techniques which will outperform the state-of-the-art of contemporary experiments.

Please read more in the press releases of the MPIK external Link (idw external Link), the MPQ external Link, the PTB external Link and the CERN Courier external Link.