Division Particle & Astroparticle Physics
 
 

Research: Experiment - Overview

Projects

The experimental research projects carried out with participation of this division at MPIK are the reactor neutrino experiment Double Chooz in Chooz in France, the double beta decay experiment GERDA at the Laboratori Nazionali del Gran Sasso (LNGS) in Italy, the XENON Dark Matter search experiments at LNGS as well as researc and development of it's successor DARWIN, the STEREO Experiment exploring the possibility of light ~1eV sterile neutrinos and CONUS which is investigating the coherent neutrino-nucleus scattering.

Major progress has been achieved in all of these experiments during recent years:

CONUS
Figure 1: CONUS detector without shielding

The CONUS experiment which is operated in collaboration with PreussenElektra GmbH in Brokdorf started Data collection early April 2018. Its aim is to detect and characterize the coherent neutrino-nucleus scattering process up until the end of 2021.



GERDA Detector
Figure 2: GERDA at the LNGS

Construction of the double beta decay experiment GERDA in hall A of LNGS has been completed. Gerda aims at measuring neutrino-less double beta decay or at improving the current limits on the life-time considerably. Observing this decay would be of fundamental importance for neutrino physics and physics beyond the Standard Model in general, because it would prove that Lepton Number is not conserved by nature. It would show that neutrino masses are not generated by the standard Higgs mechanism, which provides charged fermions and quarks with mass. Potential consequences go as far as the cosmological generation of the Baryon Asymmetry of the Universe.


DC PMTs
Figure 3: PMTs and acrylic vessels inside of the Double Chooz detector

The neutrino oscillation experiment Double Chooz at the nuclear power station Chooz, France, is finished. It's aim was to measure the smallest lepton mixing angle. The value of this angle has strong influence on the future program of experimental neutrino physics, since it decides if and how we can measure leptonic CP violation and the neutrino mass ordering. While the far detector had been completed since the end of 2010 the near detector was finished in 2015. The combined data of both near and far detectors allowed to improve the experimental results even further. Official data taking was finished at the end of 2017 while it's analysis is still going on.


ILL Reaktor
Figure 4: The ILL nuclear reactorsite the STEREO experiment is located at.

After three years of design and construction the STEREO experiment has started data taking. Its goal is to study the observed reactor antineutrino anomaly with respect to the possible existence of light sterile i.e. non interacting neutrinos. Currently the experiment is in Phase II. STEREO aims for more than 300 days of reactor_on data before the end of 2019


XENON Detector
Figure 5: Detector of the XENON1T project

The division participates also in the XENON Dark Matter search project. The early XENON100 detector started data taking already in 2010 and obtained very important results. In 2017 the first Data from the up-scaled XENON1t detector was published. Currently XENON1T continues data taking. In parallel the XENONnT project, an even further up-scaled version of the detector, is beeing planned and realized. The XENON project makes very important measurements, since they cover a large part of the theoretically expected parameter space for WIMPs, the favoured Dark Matter candidates.


Low-Level Lab
Figure 6: Low-level-Lab. at the MPIK

The arts of low-background physics, which were developed in past and on-going experiments are unique. The relevant techniques are further improved and new methods are being developed for on-going and future experiments.

 
 


Last modified: Wed 9. September 2020 at 14:52:31 , Impressum , Datenschutzhinweis

Abteilung für Teilchen- & Astroteilchen-Physik
 
 

Forschung: Experiment - Überblick

Projects

Die experimentellen Forschungs­projekte, die mit Beteiligung dieser Abteilung am MPIK aktuell durchgeführt werden, sind das Reaktorneutrino Experiment Double Chooz in Chooz in Frankreich, das Doppel­beta­zerfall Experiment GERDA im Laboratori Nazionali del Gran Sasso (LNGS) in Italien, XENON sowie die Entwicklung des zukünftigen Nachfolgers DARWIN zur Suche nach Dunkler Materie am LNGS, das STEREO Experiment, welches die Existenz leichter ~1eV steriler Neutrinos untersucht und das CONUS Experiment zur Untersuchung kohärenter Neutrino-Kern Streuung.

In all diesen Experimenten wurden während der vergangenen Jahre wesentliche Fortschritte erreicht:

CONUS
Abbildung 1: CONUS Detektor ohne Abschirmung

Das CONUS Experiment am Kern­kraft­werk der PreussenElektra GmbH in Brokdorf ist fertig­gestellt. Anfang April 2018 wurde der Messbetrieb aufgenommen. Ziel ist es bis Ende 2021 den Prozess der kohärenten Neutrino-Kern Streuung nachzuweisen und möglichst genau zu untersuchen.


GERDA Detector
Abbildung 2: Das GERDA Experiment am LNGS

Der Aufbau des Doppel­beta­zerfall Experiments GERDA ist abgeschlossen. GERDA zielt auf eine Messung oder deutliche Verbesserung der Grenzen für die Lebensdauer des neutrinolosen Doppel­beta­zerfalls. Die Beobachtung dieses Zerfalls wäre von fundamentaler Bedeutung für die Neu­tri­no­physik und für Physik jenseits des Standardmodells im Allgemeinen, da es beweisen würde, dass die Leptonenzahl von der Natur nicht erhalten wird. Dies würde zeigen, dass Neutrinomassen nicht durch den Standard Higgs-Mechanismus generiert werden, welcher die Massen der geladenen Fermionen und Quarks erzeugt. Mögliche Konsequenzen reichen bis hin zur kosmologischen Erzeugung der Baryonenasymmetrie des Universums.


DC PMTs
Abbildung 3: PMTs und Akryl Gefäß im Double Chooz Detektor

Das Neu­tri­no­os­zil­la­tions­experiment Double Chooz an dem Kernkraftwerk in Chooz, Frankreich, ist abgeschlossen. Ziel war die Messung des kleinsten Mischungswinkels der Neutrinos. Der Wert dieses Winkels beeinflusst die Zukunft der experimentellen Neutrino­physik stark, da er entscheidet, ob und wie die leptonische CP-Verletzung und die Neutrinomassen-Hierarchie gemessen werden können. Nachdem der Ferndetektor schon seit Ende 2010 Daten nahm, wurde der Nahdetektor 2015 fertiggestellt. Durch die Kombination der Daten beider Detektoren konnte eine wesentliche Verbesserung des Messergebnisses erzielt werden. Die Datennahme wurde im Dezember 2017 beendet. Die Auswertung der Daten dauert jedoch noch an.


ILL Reaktor
Abbildung 4: Der ILL Reaktor an dem das STEREO Experiment aufgebaut ist.

Das STEREO Experiment wurde nach dreijähriger Kon­struk­tions­phase fertiggestellt und hat ebenfalls begonnen erste Daten aufzunehmen. Es soll die beobachtete Reaktor-Antineutrino-Anomalie im Hinblick auf die mögliche Existenz leichter steriler d.h. in Detektoren nicht messbaren Neutrinos untersuchen. Nach einer ersten Datennahme über 2 Reaktorzyklen befindet sich das Experiment nun in Phase II, in der über 300 Tage mit hochgefahrenem Reaktor gemessen werden soll. Diese derzeitige Messung soll bis 2019 andauern.


XENON Detector
Abbildung 5: 1T Detektor des XENON Projekts

Die Abteilung ist auch am XENON Projekt zur Suche nach Dunkler Materie beteiligt, das ab 2010 als XENON100 Daten nahm und bereits sehr wichtige Ergebnisse erzielte. 2017 folgten die ersten Daten des hochskalierten XENON1T Detektors. Dieser nimmt weiterhin Daten auf. Parallel dazu wird bereits das XENONnT-Projekt, eine noch weiter hochskalierte Version des Detektors, geplant und realisiert. Die XENON Detektoren machen sehr wichtige Messungen, weil sie einen weiten Bereich des theoretisch erlaubten Bereichs für WIMPs, den bestmotivierten Kandidaten für Dunkle Materie abdecken.


Low-Level Lab
Abbildung 6: Low-level Labor des MPIK

Die Kunst der low-background Physik, die in vergangenen und aktuellen Experimenten entwickelt wurde, ist ziemlich einmalig. Die relevanten Techniken werden für laufende und zukünftige Experimente stetig weiter verbessert und erweitert.

 
 


Last modified: Thu 20. February 2020 at 00:16:46 , Impressum , Datenschutzhinweis