Division Particle & Astroparticle Physics
 
 

Research: Neutrino Physics - Dark Matter - Beyond the Standard Model

The division works on current topics in particle and astroparticle physics with a considerable overlap between experiment and theory. The focus of the experimental activities is on projects in the field of neutrino physics and the search for Dark Matter particles. The broader theoretical activities include phenomenological interpretations of experimental data and purely theoretical questions in a broad context of particle and astroparticle physics.

Theory: Connecting results from neutrino physics, dark matter search, other astroparticle physics results and experiments at accelerators it is possible to obtain direct and indirect information on new physics beyond the Standard Model of particle physics. One direction concerns particle physics motivated candidates for Dark Matter which emerge in models beyond the Standard Model and which lead to various phenomenological consequences. Another direction is neutrino physics including direct and indirect methods for the extraction of neutrino masses and mixings. Theoretical explanations of so-far unexplained regularities in these parameters are, for example, studied within flavour symmetries. The simulation of three flavour and matter effects for future neutrino oscillation experiments allows the extraction of leptonic CP and T violation, which is indirectly connected to the baryon asymmetry of the Universe. There exist also various other topics in the direction of (astro)particle physics. Examples are mechanisms for the explanation of the baryon asymmetry of the Universe, the electro-weak phase transition, Boltzmann- and Kadanoff-Baym (Quantum-Boltzmann) equations, cosmological vacuum energies, lepton flavour violation, etc. Last but not least, electro-weak symmetry breaking mechanisms and consequences for the so-called hierarchy problem are studied. Further details on the theoretical activities of the division can be found here.

Experiment: The experimental activities of the division are focussed on projects in the field of neutrino physics and dark matter search. We contribute significantly to the Double Chooz project which is one of the world-wide leading experiments looking for oscillations of reactor anti-neutrinos. The measurements constitute a very important test of three-flavour oscillations and they are a very important step in the direction of detecting leptonic CP violation. The division participates also in a significant way in the Gerda experiment which searches for lepton number violating decays of 76Germanium. This is important, since this would prove the Majorana nature of neutrinos. This would tell us a lot about the origin of neutrino masses. From the life-time one obtains interesting limits or values for neutrino masses. The participation in the XENON100 and XENON1t projects aims at the direct detection of WIMP dark matter particles. Liquid Xenon is one of the most promising technologies which have an excellent discovery potential for WIMPs in the expected regime. We are furthermore involved in the Borexino experiment which aims at the spectroscopy of solar neutrinos and at geo-neutrinos. Various low level techniques for background identification and reduction in current and future experiments, as well as for highly sensitive measurements with various materials are also studied by the division. For further details on the experimental activities of the division go here.

 
 


Last modified: Fri 13. October 2017 at 11:40:07

Abteilung für Teilchen- & Astroteilchen-Physik
 
 

Forschung: Neutrinophysik - Dunkle Materie - Physik jenseits des Standardmodells

Die Abteilung befasst sich mit aktuellen Fragestellungen der Teilchen- und Astroteilchenphysik mit einer starken Verzahnung beider Bereiche. Der Schwerpunkt der experimentellen Aktivitäten liegt bei Projekten im Bereich der Neutrinophysik und damit verwandter Fragestellungen sowie bei der Suche nach teilchenphysikalischen Kandidaten der Dunklen Materie. Die breiter angelegten theoretischen Aktivitäten reichen von der Interpretation von Ergebnissen experimenteller Projekte bis zu formalen Fragen, die sich im größeren Kontext ergeben.

Theorie: Durch die Verbindung von Ergebnissen aus der Neutrino-Physik, der Suche nach Dunkler Materie und Experimenten an Beschleunigern ist es möglich direkte und indirekte Information über neue Physik jenseits des Standardmodells zu erhalten. Eine daraus resultierende Forschungsrichtung betrifft teilchenphysikalisch motivierte Kandidaten für die Dunkle Materie die sich aus Erweiterungen des Standardmodells ergeben und die zu diversen phänomenologischen Konsequenzen führen. Eine andere Richtung ergibt sich aus den Ergebnissen der Neutrino-Physik indem man direkte und indirekte Methoden zur Bestimmung von Massen, Mischungen und anderen Eigenschaften kombiniert. Theoretische Erklärungen für die bisher unverstandenen Regelmäßigkeiten der Parameter werden z.B. im Rahmen von Flavour-Symmetrien untersucht. Die Simulation von Drei-Flavour- und Materie-Effekten bei Neutrino-Oszillationsexperimenten erlaubt die Bestimmung der leptonischen CP und T verletzung, die indirekt mit der Baryon-Asymmetrie des Universums verbunden ist. Es gibt eine Reihe weiterer Themen im Bereich der Astroteilchenphysik, wie z.B. Mechanismen zur Erklärung der Baryon-Asymmetrie des Universums, den elektroschwache Phasen/uuml;bergang, Boltzmann- und Kadanoff-Baym (Quanten-Boltzmann) Gleichungen, kosmologishche Vakuumenergien, leptonische Flavour-Verletzung u.s.w. Und scließlich Nicht zuletzt werden auch noch Mechanismen der elektroschwachen Symmetriebrechung und Konsequenzen für das sogenannte Hierarchieproblem studiert. Weitere Details zu diesen Aktivitäten finden sich hier.

Experiment: Die experimentellen Aktivitäten der Abteilung konzentrieren sich derzeit auf Projekte im Bereich der Neutrinophysik und die Suche nach Dunkler Materie. Wir sind einer der Hauptpartner im Double Chooz Experiment, das eines der weltweit führenden Experimente ist das nach Oszillationen von Reaktor-Antineutrinos sucht. Diese Messungen sind ein wichtiger Test von Drei-Flavour-Oszillationen und sie stellen einen wichtigen Schritt zur Messung von leptonischer CP-Verletzung dar. Die Abteilung ist eine der führenden Gruppen des Gerda-Experiments, welches nach Leptonzahl verletzenden Zerfällen von 76Germanium sucht. Dies ist wichtig, weil es die Majorana-natur von Neutrinos beweisen würde und weil es uns eine Menge über den Ursprung von Neutrinomassen erzählen würde. Aus der Lebensdauer ergeben sich schon heute sehr interessante Grenze oder Werte für Neutrinomaasen. Mit dem XENON100 und XENON1T Projekten, an denen die Abteilung maßgeblich beteiligt ist, wird der direkte Nachweis von WIMP-Teilchen der Dunklen Materie angestrebt Flüssiges Xenon liefert eine der am vielversprechensten Technologien die ein sehr gutes WIMP Entdeckungspotential im erwarteten Bereich hat. Die Abteilung ist weiter am Borexino Experiment beteiligt, das primär die Spektroskopie solarer Neutrinos und von Geo-Neutrinos betreibt. In der Abteilung werden verschiedene Low-Level-techniken zur Identifikation und Unterdrückung von Untergründen für aktuellen und zukünftige Experimente angewandt und weiter verfeinert. Weitere Details zu den experimentellen Aktivitäten finden sich hier.

 
 


Last modified: Fri 17. August 2018 at 10:52:46 , Impressum , Datenschutzhinweis