Division Particle & Astroparticle Physics
 
 

xenon logo

Research: XENON

The Search for Dark Matter with Liquid Noble Gas

Indirect Evidence for Dark Matter

Everything we observe on Earth is composed of ordinary, so-called baryonic, matter. However, various astrophysical and cosmological observations strongly suggest that there exists another kind of matter in the Universe. It is not composed of any kind of particles that we know and does not emit any radiation. As a consequence, it cannot be observed directly and is thus named dark matter. Nevertheless, dark matter particles have a non-zero mass and form large structures in the Universe that interact gravitationally with stars and galaxies. We can observe these gravitational effects in the dynamics of galaxies and galaxy clusters, as well as in gravitational lensing measurements. An analysis of the cosmic microwave background suggests that there is about five times more dark matter than ordinary matter.

In spite of this huge amount of dark matter, we still don't know what it is made of. One of the most popular theories suggests that dark matter consists of Weakly Interacting Massive Particles (WIMPs), which would have masses comparable to atomic nuclei, therefore forming cold dark matter. Such particles could, in principle, have occasional feeble interactions with ordinary matter. Since dark matter is believed to exist everywhere throughout our galaxy and constantly pass through the Earth, we aim to observe such interactions in detectors specifically designed to identify the nature of dark matter.

The Search for Dark Matter with Liquid Xenon

XENON1T Detektor
Figure 1: The XENON1T detector at the LNGS underground laboratory.

The XENON Collaboration works on the direct detection of dark matter particles using a dual-phase liquid Xenon (LXe) detector. Currently, the XENON1T detector is running at the Gran Sasso National Laboratory (LNGS) in Italy (see figure 1). It is the successor of the XENON10 prototype and the XENON100 detector. With a fiducial mass of about 2 tons, it has provided some of the best limits for the WIMP-nucleus cross section.

The XENON1T detector is a time projection chamber (TPC). The detection mechanism is based on the idea that a dark matter particle interacting with a xenon nucleus in the liquid phase produces a charge signal from ionization and light signal from scintillation. Photomultiplier tubes (PMTs) are used for the detection of both signals. While the light signal, usually named primary scintillation signal (S1), can be measured directly, the charge signal has to be converted into a secondary light signal (S2). This is achieved by an electric field which separates the ionization electrons from the interaction vertex and extracts them into the gas phase, where proportional scintillation takes place. The delay between the S1 and S2 signals corresponds to the electron drift time. This way, the z-component of the interaction vertex can be precisely reconstructed. Using the photon hit pattern in the top PMT-array, also the x-y coordinates can be measured resulting in 3D-positioning of the event with millimeter precision.

XENON at MPIK

AutoEmma
Figure 2: Setup for the automatized measurement of radon emanation (AutoEmma).

Owing to the very small interaction rates that are expected for dark matter, it is essential for any direct detection experiment to have a very low background. For this purpose, the experiment must be placed deep underground. The Gran Sasso Underground Laboratory, where the XENON1T experiment is located, for example, provides a shielding of 3800 meters water equivalent of rock. In addition a water tank in which the detector is situated is used as an active veto against remaining cosmic radiation. Furthermore, only the innermost part of the target mass is used for analysis in order to make use of the self-shielding properties of LXe, reducing the total background. Finally, the ratio of S1/S2 allows for a discrimination between electron recoils (background) and nuclear recoils (signal).

RGMS
Figure 3: Mass spectrometer for measuring the krypton content of xenon.

An experiment like XENON requires a high purity of all materials used in the construction of the detector. First of all, the materials used in the detector must be carefully selected for low intrinsic radioactivity. High purity germanium detectors operated at LNGS (so-called GeMPIs) and at the MPIK shallow lab are used to select the most radio-clean materials. A low radon emanation rate is an additional quality of all components of the detector. The MPIK developed a setup that determines the radon emanated from various material and detector components in an automized and highly reproducible way (see figure 2). Alongside this, methods to further suppress the radon induced background are investigated at the institute. Besides radon another background source of the experiment is due to the noble gas krypton. Krypton is present in commercial xenon gas at the ppm (parts per million) level. Continous distillation allows to lower the krypton fraction within the detector below the ppt (parts per trillion) level. A system to determine krypton traces above a detection limit of few ppq (parts per quadrillion) has been developed and samples from the XENON1T detector with less than 1 ppt sensitivity have been measured (see figure 3).

PMT array
Figure 4: Photomultiplier array of the XENON1T detector.

To ensure the functionality of the photomultipliers used in the detector, a large fraction of them have been measured and tested at the institute (see figure 4). An important background of the XENON1T detector is due to the decay of radioactive impurities located on the walls of the detector. For the XENONnT detector, which will be the upgrade of the XENON1T experiment, it is necessary to reduce this background. To achieve this goal different surface treatment methods are investigated at the institute. To evaluate possible effects of these cleaning methods on the chemical purity of the liquid xenon, a 5 cm long liquid xenon time projection chamber has been set up at the MPIK. Besides investigations concerning purity of xenon, the fundamental scintillation properties of xenon will be studied with this detector. Further more the division contributes to the data taking and data analysis of the XENON collaboration and performs maintance tasks for the detector.

Future Perspective

The ultimate aim of the XENON collaboration is to further scale up the detector to gain significantly in sensitivity. The next stage is going to be XENONnT, which is currently under construction at LNGS. It aims for another factor of 10 improvement in sensitivity compared to XENON1T. To achieve this goal, all possible sources for background must be further reduced such that the total background is about a factor of 10 below the one of XENON1T. The XENONnT detector is supposed to take data until 2023, before it will be replaced by the DARWIN experiment which is currently beeing planned.

The XENON Collaboration

The XENON Collaboration consists of

Links

More information and current news including publications and the status of XENON1T can be found on the official homepage of the XENON collaboration.

Contact

  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Lindner:
    Tel: +49 6221 516800
    E-Mail: manfred.lindner [at] mpi-hd.mpg.de
  • Priv.-Doz. Dr. Teresa Marrodán Undagoitia:
    Tel: +49 6221 516803
    E-Mail: teresa.marrodan [at] mpi-hd.mpg.de
  • Dr. Hardy Simgen:
    Tel: +49 6221 516530
    E-Mail: hardy.simgen [at] mpi-hd.mpg.de
 
 


Last modified: Thu 26. September 2019 at 11:27:13 , Impressum , Datenschutzhinweis

Abteilung für Teilchen- & Astroteilchen-Physik
 
 

xenon logo

Forschung: XENON

Die Suche nach Dunkler Materie mit flüssigem Edelgas

Indirekte Hinweise auf Dunkle Materie

Alles, was wir von der Erde aus mit Teleskopen im Universum sehen können, ist aus gewöhnlicher, sogenannter baryonischer, Materie aufgebaut. Eine Reihe astrophysikalischer und kosmologischer Beobachtungen deutet aber sehr stark darauf hin, dass viel mehr unsichtbare als sichtbare Materie im Universum existieren sollte. Diese unsichtbare Materie kann aus verschiedenen Gründen aus keiner bekannten Elementarteilchenart bestehen und sendet keinerlei elektromagnetische Strahlung aus. Deswegen kann sie optisch nicht direkt beobachtet werden und wird Dunkle Materie genannt. Teilchen der Dunklen Materie sollten eine endliche Masse haben und großräumige Strukturen im Universum bilden, die mittels der Gravitation mit sichtbaren Sternen und Galaxien wechselwirken. Derartige gravitative Effekte der Dunklen Materie wurden in der Dynamik von Galaxien, Galaxien-Haufen und mittels des Gravitationslinseneffekts beobachtet. Die Analyse des kosmischen Mikrowellenhintergrunds legt in Übereinstimmung mit den anderen Hinweisen ebenfalls nahe, dass es etwa fünf mal mehr Dunkle Materie als normale Materie gibt.

Trotz dieses massiven Überschusses an Dunkler Materie wissen wir immer noch nicht genau, aus was sie besteht. Eine plausible Theorie ist, dass Dunkle Materie aus sogenannten "Weakly Interacting Massive Particles" (WIMPs) besteht. WIMPs könnten Massen vergleichbar mit den Massen von Atomkernen haben; man spricht dann von kalter Dunkler Materie (cold dark matter). Derartige Teilchen würden über die schwache Wechselwirkung gelegentlich mit normaler Materie wechselwirken. Da die Erde aufgrund ihrer Eigenbewegung und der Bewegung mit der Sonne durch die Galaxie einem "Wind" aus Dunkle Materie ausgesetzt ist, kann man auf der Erde geeignete Detektoren bauen, die nach diesen gelegentlichen Streuprozessen Ausschau halten, um die Dunkle Materie direkt nachzuweisen.

Die Suche nach Dunkler Materie mit flüssigen Xenon

XENON1T Detektor
Abbildung 1: Der XENON1T-Detektor im LNGS Untergrundlabor.

Die XENON-Kollaboration strebt den direkten Nachweis von Dunkler Materie mit einem Detektor, der mit flüssigem Xenon (LXe) gefüllt ist, an. Aufbauend auf den Erfahrungen mit dem XENON10-Prototypen sowie des XENON100 Detektors, welcher bis ins Jahr 2009 einige der besten Limits an die Wechselwirkungen von Dunkler Materie gesetzt hatte, nimmt der XENON1T-Detektor derzeit im Gran Sasso National Laboratory (LNGS) in Italien Daten (siehe Abbildung 1). Mit einer "fiducial mass" (aktives Detektorvolumen) von etwa 2 Tonnen, konnte der Detektor weltweit führende Limits an die Wechselwirkung zwischen Dunkler Materie und Atomkernen setzen.

Der XENON1T Detektor ist eine sogenannte "Time Projection Chamber (TPC)", die eine dreidimensionale Ortsauflösung hat. Der Nachweismechanismus basiert auf der Tatsache, dass ein WIMP, welches mit einem Xenon-Atomkern im flüssigen Volumen streut, in charakteristischer Weise eine kleine elektrische Ladung (bestehend aus Elektronen) und ein kleines Lichtsignal produziert. Lichtsensoren (sogenannte Photomultiplier) weisen diese beiden Signale nach. Während das Lichtsignal (primäres Szintillationslicht S1) direkt gemessen wird, muss das Ladungssignal zuerst in ein sekundäres Lichtsignal S2 umgewandelt werden. Dies erfolgt durch starke elektrische Felder, mittels derer die durch Ionisation frei gesetzten Elektronen nach oben in die Gasphase gezogen werden. Diese Gasphase wirkt auf Grund der hohen Feldstärken wie eine Proportionalkammer und es wird ein zweites Szintillationslichtsignal produziert und ausgelesen. Der zeitliche Unterschied zwischen S1 und S2 entspricht der Zeit, welche die Elektronen zum Driften benötigt haben. Auf diese Weise kann man die x-y-Position aus der Position der Lichtsensoren, und die z-Position aus der Driftzeit präzise in drei Dimensionen rekonstruieren.

XENON am MPIK

AutoEmma
Abbildung 2: Automatisierte Anlage zur Bestimmung der Radon Emanation (AutoEmma).

Auf Grund der erwarteten extrem kleinen Wechselwirkungsrate von Dunkler Materie im Detektor, muss dieser in einer Umgebung mit extrem kleinem Mess-Untergrund betrieben werden. Darüber hinaus benötigt man effiziente Verfahren, um die verbleibenden Untergründe stark zu unterdrücken. Deswegen wird das Experiment tief unter der Erde betrieben, um es vor der kosmischen Strahlung abzuschirmen. Im Gran Sasso Untergrundlabor, wo XENON1T betrieben wird, hat man eine Felsabschirmung, die einer Wassersäule von 3800 Metern entspricht. Zusätzlich befindet sich der Detektor in einem Wassertank, der als aktives Veto verwendet wird. Dies dient dazu Wechselwirkungen zu erkennen, die durch die interaktion der verbleibenden kosmischen Strahlung entstehen. Ein weiterer Schritt besteht darin, mittels der dreidimensionalen Auflösung, Ereignisse nahe der Oberfläche auszusortieren, die von den verwendeten Materialien des Detektors stammen. Dieses Herausschneiden des innersten und saubersten Teils des Detektors zusammen mit dem sehr charakteristischen Verhältnis von S1/S2 erlaubt eine sehr effiziente Untergrundunterdrückung.

RGMS
Abbildung 3: Massenspektrometer zum Nachweis von Krypton in Xenon.

Ein Experiment wie XENON1T hat offensichtlich enorme Reinheitsanforderungen an die Materialien und Verfahren für alle im Detektor verwendeten Komponenten. Dazu werden alle Materialien sorgfältig ausgewählt und mittels Germanium-Spektrometern auf kleinste radioaktive Restverunreinigungen untersucht. Auch eine niedrige Radon Emanationsrate ist ein entscheidendes Qualitätsmerkmal aller verbauten Komponenten. Am MPIK wurde eine Anlage entwickelt, die in der Lage ist automatisiert und mit hoher Reproduzierbarkeit die Radon Emanation verschiedener Materialien und Bauteile zu bestimmen (siehe Abbildung 2). Des Weiteren werden am Institut Methoden untersucht, mit denen sich der Radonuntergrund im Detektor weiter reduzieren lässt. Neben Radon stellt auch das Edelgas Krypton einen potentiellen Untergrund dar. Xenon, dass durch Luftverflüssigung gewonnen wird, enthält Krypton auf dem ppm-Niveau (parts per million). Durch kontinuierliche Destillation, kann der Krypton Anteil im Detektor unter das ppt-Niveau (parts per trillion) gesenkt werden. Am MPIK wurde ein System entwickelt, um Spuren von Krypton oberhalb des ppq-Niveaus (parts per quadrillion) zu detektieren, und Proben aus dem XENON1T-Detektor werden mit ppt-Sensitivität gemessen (siehe Abbildung 3).

PMT array
Abbildung 4: Photomultiplier array des XENON1T-Detektors.

Um die Funktionsfähigkeit und Belastbarkeit der Lichtsensoren zu überprüfen, werden viele der im Experiment verwendeten Photomultiplier am Institut getestet und vermessen (siehe Abbildung 4). Ein wichtiger Untergrund von XENON1T besteht aus radioaktiven Zerfällen, die durch Verunreinigungen an den Wänden des Detektors hervorgerufen werden. Für das Nachfolge Experiment XENONnT, soll dieser Untergrund reduziert werden. Hierfür werden von der Abteilung am Institut Methoden zur Oberflächenreinigung untersucht. Um den Einfluss dieser Verfahren auf die chemische Reinheit des flüssigen Xenons zu bewerten, wurde am Institut eine 5 cm lange flüssig Xenon Time Projection Chamber aufgebaut. Neben Untersuchungen zur Reinheit von flüssig Xenon, lassen sich mit ihr auch die fundamentalen Szintillationseigenschaften von Xenon untersuchen. Außerdem nimmt die Abteilung innerhalb der XENON-Kollaboration an der Datennahme und Datenanalyse teil und führt Wartungsarbeiten durch.

Die Zukunft des XENON-Projekts

Das letztendliche Ziel der XENON-Kollaboration ist die Hochskalierung des Detektors, um deutlich an Sensitivität für den Nachweis von Dunkler Materie zu gewinnen. Zur Zeit wird die nächste Version, XENONnT, am LNGS gebaut. Dieser Detektor soll die Sensitivität um einen Faktor 10 im Vergleich zu XENON1T erhöhen. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, müssen alle möglichen Quellen von Untergrund weiter unterdrückt werden, um schließlich eine Reduzierung des Gesamt-Untergrunds um einen Faktor 10 im Vergleich zu XENON1T zu erreichen. Der XENONnT Detektor wird voraussichtlich bis ins Jahr 2023 Daten sammeln, bevor er durch das in Planung befindliche DARWIN Experiment abgelößt wird.

Die XENON-Kollaboration

Die XENON-Kollaboration besteht aus

Links

Weitere Informationen und aktuelle Neuigkeiten inklusive Publikationen und des Status von XENON1T können auf der offiziellen Webseite der Kollaboration gefunden werden.

Kontakt

  • Prof. Dr. Manfred Lindner:
    Tel: +49 6221 516800
    E-Mail: manfred.lindner [at] mpi-hd.mpg.de
  • Priv.-Doz. Dr. Teresa Marrodán Undagoitia:
    Tel: +49 6221 516803
    E-Mail: teresa.marrodan [at] mpi-hd.mpg.de
  • Dr. Hardy Simgen:
    Tel: +49 6221 516530
    E-Mail: hardy.simgen [at] mpi-hd.mpg.de
 
 


Last modified: Wed 7. August 2019 at 13:19:03 , Impressum , Datenschutzhinweis