In 2000, our group organized the

International Symposium on High Energy Gamma-Ray Astronomy

go to the HDGS homepage

which took place in Heidelberg from June 26 to 30, 2000.

This Symposium was hosted by the Max-Planck-Institut für Kernphysik and the Sonderforschungsbereich 439 "Galaxies in the young Universe" of the DFG, and under the Auspices of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP).

The scope of the Symposium included the basic topics and the objectives of the rapidly developing field of gamma-ray astronomy in the energy regime above 10 GeV. The talks covered observational and theoretical aspects of Galactic and Extragalactic Sources of gamma rays and their contributions to the non-thermal particle inventory in the Universe. Also the associated questions of Particle Acceleration in different astrophysical environments were discussed. Finally, the exciting implications of studies of extragalactic gamma-rays for Observational Cosmology made an important part of the Symposium.

More than 200 scientist from 30 countries participated in the symposium. The scientific program consisted of 40 invited talks reviewing the different topics and almost 100 more oral or poster contributions.

You can find here the symposium's program with all abstracts (submitted before the symposium).

The Proceedings have been published by the American Institute of Physics (AIP).
In case you wish to receive a (extra-)copy, you can get an order form for a copy with 35% Pre-Publication Discount Request here directly from AIP.

The Local Organising Committee consisted of the following members of our and Prof. Hofmann's group:

Prof. H. Völk (chairman), W. Butsmann (secretary), Dr. G. Hermann,
Dr. A. Heusler, J. Kettler, Dr. A. Kohnle, Dr. A. Konopelko, Dr. H. Krawczynski,
Dr. G. Rowell, Dr. C. Wiedner

Scientific Organising Committee

F. A. Aharonian (MPI für Kernphysik, Heidelberg) - chair
E. G. Berezhko (ICRA, Yakutsk)
R. Cowsik (Indian Inst. for Astrophysics, Bangalore)
B. Degrange (Ecole Polytechnique, Palaiseau)
L. O'C. Drury (Inst. for Advanced Studies, Dublin)
R. Ekers (ATNF CSIRO, Sydney)
T. Gaisser (Bartol Research Inst., Newark)
N. Gehrels (NASA/GSFC)
W. Hofmann (MPI für Kernphysik, Heidelberg)
G. Kanbach (MPI für Extraterrestrische Physik, Garching)
T. Kifune (Inst. for Cosmic Ray Research, Tokyo)
J. G. Kirk (MPI für Kernphysik, Heidelberg)
K. Koyama (Kyoto University)
E. Lorenz (MPI für Physik, München)
P. Meszaros (Pennsylvania State University)
K. J. Orford (Durham University)
Ch. Raubenheimer (Potchefstroom University)
G. Pelletier (Observatoire de Grenoble)
B. Sadoulet (University of California, Berkeley)
R. Schlickeiser (Ruhr-Universität Bochum)
S. Swordy (The University of Chicago)
H. Völk (MPI für Kernphysik, Heidelberg)
S. J. Wagner (Landessternwarte Heidelberg)
T. C. Weekes (Whipple Observatory)

back to the MPIK High Energy Astrophysics Home page